background raster image?

Do you have a question you want to ask an existing QCAD user about QCAD and what you can do with it? Do you want to know if a particular feature exists? This is the place to ask.

Moderator: andrew

background raster image?

Postby shokan22 » Thu Apr 21, 2011 2:09 am

Can I have a jpg in the background for drawing/tracing over... preferably with transparency level adjustment?

Thanks.
shokan22
Registered Member
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Apr 21, 2011 2:06 am

Postby andrew » Thu Apr 21, 2011 5:29 pm

Yes, you can insert bitmaps in various formats. For transparency, you would have to use the PNG format though and adjust transparency in the image file. QCAD itself does not add transparency to an inserted image.
User avatar
andrew
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2522
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2007 6:07 am

Postby shokan22 » Thu Apr 21, 2011 9:16 pm

I tried Draw > Insert Image. I then tried clicking around the Insertion Point space below the viewport , I tried clicking in viewport, and also tried typing in 0 in the Insertion Point command line field, but at this time, everything in the program becomes unresponsive. I read the manual about inserting image. The insertion point action description was not clear to me.
shokan22
Registered Member
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Apr 21, 2011 2:06 am

Postby hungerburg » Fri Apr 22, 2011 10:37 am

I just tried to insert an image in png format with eight bit alpha channel and was surprised how smooth it is displayed in qcad. the image is anchored in its lower left corner, clicking anywhere in the drawing area places the image, for me.

I had to give it a try, because I find myself doing work, that I used to do in inkscape, in qcad sometimes, now this is a nice to have :)
User avatar
hungerburg
Senior Member
 
Posts: 125
Joined: Fri May 28, 2010 7:35 pm


Return to Pre-sales Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest