Opening network locations

Please use this forum to post feedback and suggestions related to QCAD version 3

Moderator: andrew

Opening network locations

Postby Brass Monkey » Thu May 24, 2012 4:30 pm

What would be really useful is if the "open file" dialog in Qcad would allow me to open files on a network folder or shared location other than my own computer. I'm using a central server for drawings and other documents and while most applications can see it quite happily, Qcad can't.

I can double-click the DXF files in the server folder and they open ok, I can edit them and save them with no issue, but they usually open in a new instance of Qcad which means I can't cut and paste between them and the other stuff I'm working on.

Is this a possibility?

Thanks,
BM.
Brass Monkey
Junior Member
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Thu Mar 31, 2011 2:02 pm

Re: Opening network locations

Postby Clive » Thu May 24, 2012 8:56 pm

Hi
I presume you are using QCAD independently on your computer and QCAD is not accessible (not installed - site licence) via your site server?

As a 'workaround' would it be possible to create a new folder on your own computer (shared files) and just copy these shared files into this folder, work on them (copy/paste etc..) and them copy them back into the shared location?
User avatar
Clive
Moderator
 
Posts: 905
Joined: Thu Aug 25, 2011 9:28 pm
Location: UK

Re: Opening network locations

Postby Brass Monkey » Thu May 24, 2012 10:01 pm

That's pretty much what I'm doing at the moment. It's inconvenient and leads to a pile-up of drawings on my laptop and stuff missed off the server. Since I have a license for the one seat I am using, shouldn't I be able to work on the files I need from Qcad's dialog box?
Brass Monkey
Junior Member
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Thu Mar 31, 2011 2:02 pm

Re: Opening network locations

Postby andrew » Fri May 25, 2012 8:45 am

All file dialogs QCAD is using to choose a file to open or save / export are supposed to be native, normal Windows file dialogs, identical with other file dialogs used by other Windows applications. At least that's what our framework (Qt) promises.

On my Windows installation, I can navigate to "My Computer" and then "Shared Folders" to access network shares.

If that is not the case, there are two workarounds I can think of:
- Double-click on a file in a shared folder in the file exploder (as you have tried). The reason why this might open another instance of QCAD is very likely a timeout issue which will be fixed for QCAD 3 final.
- Drag and drop a file in a shared folder to the QCAD application window. Don't drop it into the drawing area, otherwise it will be pasted into an existing drawing. Drop it on a tool bar or anywhere else instead and QCAD should open the file.

BTW: This is not a license issue. Shared folders and files should be accessible just like local folders and files.
User avatar
andrew
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2547
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2007 6:07 am

Re: Opening network locations

Postby Clive » Fri May 25, 2012 11:07 am

Brass Monkey, Andrew
I've deleted my other post as I think it just confused the issue - I`ll stick to just answering what I'm certain about in future :roll: !
-Andrew thanks for your 'clear' explanation about accessing shared folders it makes perfect sense.

The 'workaround' you mentioned about dragging and dropping a file into a tool bar, well - I've just tested this with a work colleagues file and yes I can confirm it works a treat. I`ll have to watch myself though as I could get up to mischief now that I know I can do this :lol:
User avatar
Clive
Moderator
 
Posts: 905
Joined: Thu Aug 25, 2011 9:28 pm
Location: UK

Re: Opening network locations

Postby Brass Monkey » Fri May 25, 2012 11:21 am

It's very strange. I am using Windows 7 pro, 64 bit on a HP Probook 4720S. I can't see shared folders or network locations on Qcad's dialog box, even though the server is listed as a "favourite" on regular dialogs (ie Windows file management dialogs) Also, dragging and dropping files gives me a 'no-go' symbol and no result whether dragging from local or remote locations.
I am running -
Version:
3.0 RC5
Date:
Apr 6 2012
Qt Version:
4.7.4
Edition:
Full Version
so it should be up to date. Perhaps there are Windows settings I need to adjust, it is puzzling to say the least. Any clues?

(on a happy note it seems much more stable than the previous release candidate I was using. Cheers :mrgreen: )
Brass Monkey
Junior Member
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Thu Mar 31, 2011 2:02 pm

Re: Opening network locations

Postby andrew » Fri May 25, 2012 12:46 pm

Brass Monkey wrote:I am using Windows 7 pro, 64 bit on a HP Probook 4720S.


The "64 bit" part might be the issue here. QCAD is a 32bit application so it will run in a special mode on a 64bit Windows installation. This is quite likely the cause of the sharing problems. All file access is handled by an emulator for 32 bit applications running under a 64 bit Windows installation.

A 64 bit version of QCAD 3 would likely fix the problem, but we haven't succeeded yet in compiling a 64 bit version. There might also be some setting in Windows to enable file sharing for 32 bit applications.

Brass Monkey wrote:(on a happy note it seems much more stable than the previous release candidate I was using. Cheers :mrgreen: )


Good to hear. We've disabled the script debugger by default in RC5 which was the cause of frequent problems and crashes.
User avatar
andrew
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2547
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2007 6:07 am

Re: Opening network locations

Postby Brass Monkey » Fri May 25, 2012 1:10 pm

That's interesting, I will investigate that. There may be a fix I can apply to Windows rather than Qcad.

More news as we have it - I will share results when (if) I get them.
Brass Monkey
Junior Member
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Thu Mar 31, 2011 2:02 pm

Re: Opening network locations

Postby Brass Monkey » Fri May 25, 2012 1:28 pm

Interesting: if I type the path into Qcad's "open file" dialog thus:

\\SERVER\files\drawings

I can get into it, navigate files and folders and see everything I need to. Files open, edit and save exactly as they should.
There's just no easy way of navigating to the server itself apart from feeding it a correct path.

It's probably something really small but at least now I have a workaround. :)

Have a nice weekend 8)
Brass Monkey
Junior Member
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Thu Mar 31, 2011 2:02 pm

Re: Opening network locations

Postby andrew » Fri May 25, 2012 1:34 pm

Thanks for posting the workaround. That will likely be helpful for other users too.

You too have a nice weekend!
User avatar
andrew
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2547
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2007 6:07 am

Re: Opening network locations

Postby pubgrub » Mon Apr 14, 2014 11:46 am

Sorry for pulling up this old thread.

I am having the same problems with accessing/saving drawings on shared network drives. I am using QCAD 3.47 on Win7/64.

I found something on StackOverflow that _might_ help, but I am not sure:

stackoverflow.com/questions/4259994/qfiledialog-alternative-that-uses-default-file-dialog-defined-by-os

Thanks anyway for the great work!

Mike
pubgrub
Newbie Member
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Oct 14, 2009 12:27 am


Return to QCAD 3 Suggestions and Feedback

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yahoo [Bot] and 1 guest