"ghost" crosshair when using restrict angle

Use this forum to ask questions about how to do things in QCAD.

Moderator: andrew

Forum rules
Always indicate Operating system, QCAD version
Attach Drawing files, Screenshots
Post one question per topic.
Post Reply
Sixstringking
Newbie Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Sep 26, 2017 3:11 pm

"ghost" crosshair when using restrict angle

Post by Sixstringking » Wed Jun 13, 2018 7:58 pm

I am using restrict angle to keep my angles to 15 degrees, but when I first use it, there is a "ghost" cross hair that seems to be following a hidden grid, jumping from location to location as I move my main crosshair around to set the start of the line. If I click when the two are seperate from each other, the line starts at the ghost crosshair and ends at the main crosshair. If I hit escape and then try to set the start of the line, it goes where I want it to. How do I stop this from happening so it will just set the start at my main crosshair?
Sixstringking
Windows 10 latest edition (sometimes)
Mac OS latest edition (other times)
Qcad Pro

User avatar
andrew
Site Admin
Posts: 5602
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2007 6:07 am

Re: "ghost" crosshair when using restrict angle

Post by andrew » Wed Jun 13, 2018 8:44 pm

If I understand you correctly, you want to draw a line from a start point at any given location and then set the end point within a 15 degree raster.

To do so, disable the 15 degree restriction for the start point and enable it for the end point.

User avatar
Husky
Moderator/Drawing Help/Testing
Posts: 2128
Joined: Wed May 11, 2011 9:25 am
Location: USA

Re: "ghost" crosshair when using restrict angle

Post by Husky » Wed Jun 13, 2018 8:53 pm

Sixstringking wrote:
Wed Jun 13, 2018 7:58 pm
How do I stop this from happening so it will just set the start at my main crosshair?
This "Ghost Cross hair" appears because you told him so. :wink:
I assume you launched first the "Line from 2 Points" and activated then the "Restrict Angle or Lengths". Correct? If yes then you already told QCAD to "Restrict Angle or Lengths" for the first point and what you see is an attempt to find that Point. That is what looks like an invisible Grid ...

The proper approach would be to:
Launch the "Line from 2 Points" tool,
decide the first Point of that line,
THEN launch the "Restrict Angle or Lengths" tool,
and decide the second point for that line.
Work smart, not hard: QCad Pro

Sixstringking
Newbie Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Sep 26, 2017 3:11 pm

Re: "ghost" crosshair when using restrict angle

Post by Sixstringking » Thu Jun 14, 2018 4:50 pm

Ahhh, I see! I thought it could be switched on and left on for all of my drawing, since I dont need super precision in my drawings. I just use it to sketch out ideas and rough diagrams mostly
Sixstringking
Windows 10 latest edition (sometimes)
Mac OS latest edition (other times)
Qcad Pro

Post Reply

Return to “QCAD 'How Do I' Questions”