Text for laser cutting

Use this forum to ask questions about how to do things in QCAD.

Moderator: andrew

Forum rules

Always indicate your operating system and QCAD version.

Attach drawing files and screenshots.

Post one question per topic.

Schepp
Newbie Member

Text for laser cutting

Post by Schepp » Thu Mar 21, 2024 12:30 am

Maybe this has been brought up before?

I've been a QCAD user for about 3yrs to have parts laser cut via sendcutsend.com
Its been fun creating custom parts for my Baja Bug project.

I feel I'm pretty proficient with the software but...
One thing I've never been able to figure out is how to insert text that is recognizable for laser cutting. (DXF)

I've always had to trace the letters to make an outline, not ideal but its got me by. There's got to be a way to do this. I'm a self taught user so I'm sure I'm missing something.

Any help or direct me to some reading material would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks

CVH
Premier Member

Re: Text for laser cutting

Post by CVH » Thu Mar 21, 2024 4:45 am

Hi, and welcome to the QCAD forum.

TTF are filled outlines defined with splines.
One can explode TTF TEXT entities when selected to outlines, see menu Modify .. Explode (XP).
Also see menu Edit .. Application Preferences .. Modify .. Explode for the used approximation and to convert Glyph's directly to polylines.
The tighter the tolerance the more tiny segments are created.
I would advice against exploding splines to (very) short line segments unless your CNC setup is not capable of handling arcs.

Use a Bold or Italic TTF type over setting TEXT to Bold or Italic.
This last is a mathematical approach and may result in self-intersecting shapes.

Scaled splines are not entirely the same shapes.
Avoid scaling the explosion results, rather set a proper TEXT height before exploding (= height of the capital "A").

To be honest: I tweaked Explode.js to return all splines ifso. e_geek