Polyline Back to a Spline?

Use this forum to ask questions about how to do things in QCAD version 3

Moderator: andrew

Polyline Back to a Spline?

Postby wildspidee » Mon Jan 28, 2013 9:37 pm

I doubt this is possible, but is there any way to turn a polyline back into a spline after you've exploded it? It's nearly impossible to adjust a polyline with so many points.

I saw the post for the new feature of Polyline>Simplify and that would definitely help, but a spline would be better in my case.

Thank you.
wildspidee
Junior Member
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Sat Nov 03, 2012 2:00 am

Re: Polyline Back to a Spline?

Postby andrew » Mon Jan 28, 2013 9:50 pm

Generally not.

Best practice is to keep the original splines on a separate (if desired hidden) layer and the exploded spline (i.e. polyline) you are working with on another layer.

If you draw a spline based on fit points with the fit points on some of the polyline vertices, you should be able to create a spline that is pretty close to the original spline without too much effort.
User avatar
andrew
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2555
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2007 6:07 am

Re: Polyline Back to a Spline?

Postby wildspidee » Mon Jan 28, 2013 9:57 pm

Your layer solution would be the best. I'll duplicate the spline before exploding, just in case future modifications are necessary.

I think the Polyline>Simplify will be nice, too, when it's available.

Thank you Andrew.
wildspidee
Junior Member
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Sat Nov 03, 2012 2:00 am

Re: Polyline Back to a Spline?

Postby Clive » Tue Jan 29, 2013 8:58 pm

wildspidee wrote:I think the Polyline>Simplify will be nice, too, when it's available.


This is available in the latest 'Snapshot' releases - worth a look when you`ve got a minute :wink:

These are developmental releases though being tested out here, so it is worth running them 'side by side' your current version. If you're interested to test them out they are available from your download area.
User avatar
Clive
Moderator
 
Posts: 909
Joined: Thu Aug 25, 2011 9:28 pm
Location: UK

Re: Polyline Back to a Spline?

Postby wildspidee » Tue Jan 29, 2013 11:35 pm

I'd love to help with your beta, but that might be dangerous. I still make some bad choices and mistakes and I wouldn't know if it's me or the program.

I ask too many questions as it is. You guys have been great.

Maybe I'll get the nightly and JUST test the Simplify. That would probably be safe.

Thanks, Clive.
wildspidee
Junior Member
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Sat Nov 03, 2012 2:00 am


Return to QCAD 3 'How Do I' Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests