How do I install from .tar.gz?

Use this forum to ask questions about how to do things in QCAD version 3

Moderator: andrew

How do I install from .tar.gz?

Postby RayArdia » Tue Apr 08, 2014 10:08 am

Tried but got this:-

ray@ray-Aspire-5735:~/Downloads$ tar xfvz qcad-3.x.x-prof-linux-x86_32.tar.gz
tar (child): qcad-3.x.x-prof-linux-x86_32.tar.gz: Cannot open: No such file or directory
tar (child): Error is not recoverable: exiting now
tar: Child returned status 2
tar: Error is not recoverable: exiting now

What am I doing wrong?
RayArdia
Full Member
 
Posts: 70
Joined: Mon Aug 11, 2008 6:57 pm
Location: NW Spain

Re: How do I install from .tar.gz?

Postby andrew » Tue Apr 08, 2014 10:22 am

3.x.x stands for the current version number. If you have downloaded QCAD version 3.4.6 (the latest at the time of writing), use this command:

tar xfvz qcad-3.4.6-prof-linux-x86_32.tar.gz
User avatar
andrew
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2600
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2007 6:07 am

Re: How do I install from .tar.gz?

Postby RayArdia » Tue Apr 08, 2014 11:07 am

Thankyou.
Tried that result was:-
ray@ray-Aspire-5735:~/Downloads$ tar xfvz qcad-3.4.6-prof-linux-x86_32.tar.gz
tar (child): qcad-3.4.6-prof-linux-x86_32.tar.gz: Cannot open: No such file or directory
tar (child): Error is not recoverable: exiting now
tar: Child returned status 2
tar: Error is not recoverable: exiting now
Ray
RayArdia
Full Member
 
Posts: 70
Joined: Mon Aug 11, 2008 6:57 pm
Location: NW Spain

Re: How do I install from .tar.gz?

Postby andrew » Tue Apr 08, 2014 11:10 am

Did you previously download that file into your download folder?
What does this output:

cd ~/Downloads
ls qcad*
User avatar
andrew
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2600
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2007 6:07 am

Re: How do I install from .tar.gz?

Postby RayArdia » Tue Apr 08, 2014 11:13 am

Output:-
ray@ray-Aspire-5735:~/Downloads$ ls qcad*
qcad-3.4.6-linux-x86_64.tar.gz
At present that is the only file in Downloads
Ray
RayArdia
Full Member
 
Posts: 70
Joined: Mon Aug 11, 2008 6:57 pm
Location: NW Spain

Re: How do I install from .tar.gz?

Postby andrew » Tue Apr 08, 2014 11:46 am

The file you have downloaded contains the trial version of QCAD (hence no '-pro' in the file name).

The file for the trial version is called "qcad-3.4.6-linux-x86_64.tar.gz". To extract this file, please use the following command:

tar xfvz qcad-3.4.6-linux-x86_64.tar.gz


I've also sent you update instructions by e-mail in case you want to update your QCAD Professional license instead.
User avatar
andrew
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2600
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2007 6:07 am

Re: How do I install from .tar.gz?

Postby RayArdia » Tue Apr 08, 2014 1:06 pm

Now have qcad extracted in Downloads. How do I get it to run? Sorry to be so thick!
Ray
RayArdia
Full Member
 
Posts: 70
Joined: Mon Aug 11, 2008 6:57 pm
Location: NW Spain

Re: How do I install from .tar.gz?

Postby andrew » Tue Apr 08, 2014 1:12 pm

RayArdia wrote:Now have qcad extracted in Downloads.


Excellent!

How do I get it to run?


This should do the trick:
cd ~/Downloads/qcad-3.4.6-linux-x86_64
./qcad
User avatar
andrew
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2600
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2007 6:07 am

Re: How do I install from .tar.gz?

Postby RayArdia » Tue Apr 08, 2014 1:37 pm

ray@ray-Aspire-5735:~$ cd ~/Downloads qcad-3.4.6-linux-x86_32
ray@ray-Aspire-5735:~/Downloads$ ./qcad
bash: ./qcad: No such file or directory
ray@ray-Aspire-5735:~/Downloads$
¿?¿?¿?
RayArdia
Full Member
 
Posts: 70
Joined: Mon Aug 11, 2008 6:57 pm
Location: NW Spain

Re: How do I install from .tar.gz?

Postby andrew » Tue Apr 08, 2014 1:59 pm

Please note that you have to type in the commands exactly as mentioned in my post. There is no tolerance for errors when working with the terminal (not even one single character).

cd ~/Downloads/qcad-3.4.6-linux-x86_64
./qcad


I sense that you might not be familiar with the terminal application or with how files and directories can be accessed. What these commands above do is the following:

cd ~/Downloads/qcad-3.4.6-linux-x86_64


This changes into the directory Downloads inside your home folder (~). In Downloads, it changes into subdirectory 'qcad-3.4.6-linux-x86_64'. This is the directory (= 'folder') where QCAD was extracted. The slashes ('/') in that command are vital. They are used to separate directories.

./qcad


This starts (executes, runs) the QCAD application binary.

You can do the same also in a file manager, for example Nautilus or whatever file manager you are usually using to manage your files and directories. All you have to do is open the directory 'Downloads' in your home directory, then open the directory 'qcad-3.4.6-linux-x86_64' and in there run the file 'qcad'.

If all this makes no sense whatsoever, it might be a good idea to ask someone for help who is familiar with how files and directories are organized on a computer operating system such as Linux.
User avatar
andrew
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2600
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2007 6:07 am

Re: How do I install from .tar.gz?

Postby RayArdia » Tue Apr 08, 2014 2:11 pm

QCAD runs!!! but when I went to close the Terminal I noticed:-

ray@ray-Aspire-5735:~/Downloads/qcad-3.4.6-linux-x86_32$ ./qcad
Debug: RCamScriptsPlugin: init
Debug: RDwgPlugin::init: trial
Debug: RDxfPlugin::init
Debug: RHelpPlugin::init
Debug: RProScriptsPlugin::init
Debug: FirstStart.js: cannot load translation for language es
Debug: TIMER: 108 ms - "loading add-ons"
Debug: TIMER: 926 ms - "initializing add-ons"
Is this output in any way significant?
I changed language to English and the QCAD screen opened in its usaal way (only better than when I was using it before, it seems.)
RayArdia
Full Member
 
Posts: 70
Joined: Mon Aug 11, 2008 6:57 pm
Location: NW Spain

Re: How do I install from .tar.gz?

Postby RayArdia » Tue Apr 08, 2014 2:15 pm

Runs perfectly from Terminal but not from Nautilus.
RayArdia
Full Member
 
Posts: 70
Joined: Mon Aug 11, 2008 6:57 pm
Location: NW Spain


Return to QCAD 3 'How Do I' Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest