Infinite Line / Ray - Break out understanding ...

Use this forum to ask questions about how to do things in QCAD version 3

Moderator: andrew

Infinite Line / Ray - Break out understanding ...

Postby Husky » Fri Jul 25, 2014 9:41 pm

Right now I don't understand this behavior - maybe somebody could point me in the right direction why it works on this way.

If I draw three entities - a line - a infinite line and a Ray and try then to use the Break out segment tools the result confuse me.

First of all: The Auto trim tool doesn't works on infinite lines and rays without any warning. Why it doesn't works - I don't know? :oops:

Second of all:
My test-drawing is this one:
Husky-2014.07.25-02.png
Husky-2014.07.25-02.png (2.22 KiB) Viewed 574 times


If I use the "Break out Segment" tool it will work for the "Line" on the left side and for the "Infinite Line" and "Ray" on the right side from the vertical yellow line. Why isn't it working always on the same side?

Husky-2014.07.25-04.png
Husky-2014.07.25-04.png (4.31 KiB) Viewed 574 times
Work smart, not hard: QCad Pro
User avatar
Husky
Moderator
 
Posts: 668
Joined: Wed May 11, 2011 9:25 am
Location: USA

Re: Infinite Line / Ray - Break out understanding ...

Postby andrew » Mon Jul 28, 2014 10:55 am

Thanks for your report.

I've moved this to the bug tracker at:
http://www.qcad.org/bugtracker/index.ph ... sk_id=1078
User avatar
andrew
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2600
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2007 6:07 am

Re: Infinite Line / Ray - Break out understanding ...

Postby andrew » Mon Jul 28, 2014 3:24 pm

Quick fix (replaces scripts/ShapeAlgorithms.js):
https://raw.githubusercontent.com/qcad/ ... orithms.js
User avatar
andrew
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2600
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2007 6:07 am

Re: Infinite Line / Ray - Break out understanding ...

Postby Husky » Mon Jul 28, 2014 8:19 pm

I wasn't sure: Is it me or is it a bug ... 8)

Fix works great for break out's. Thank you!



Now I have also notice that ...

1. I can't use the Stretch tool correctly at a Ray / Infinite Line ... :(
2. Selected Ray / Infinite Lines are providing me the two blue "Handle points" at the beginning of the line: Smart!!! :wink:

Before I used the Stretch tool ...
Husky-2014.07.28-02.png
Husky-2014.07.28-02.png (2.38 KiB) Viewed 536 times

after I used the Stretch tool to move the rectangle to the left ...
Husky-2014.07.28-03.png
Husky-2014.07.28-03.png (2.52 KiB) Viewed 536 times
Work smart, not hard: QCad Pro
User avatar
Husky
Moderator
 
Posts: 668
Joined: Wed May 11, 2011 9:25 am
Location: USA

Re: Infinite Line / Ray - Break out understanding ...

Postby andrew » Tue Jul 29, 2014 9:27 am

The entities in the first images are no longer a ray and an infinite line but a regular line and three rays.

Stretching is defined as 'moving all end points within a given area while not changing the position of end point outside that area'.

For XLines, stretching has no effect since infinite lines have by definition no endpoints.

For rays, stretching currently has no effect either, since there is no other endpoint which could remain fixed (like for lines). Arguably, stretching a ray should probably simple move the base point if the base point is within the area, thereby moving the entire ray. I'll look into that and check how other CAD systems define stretching for rays.
User avatar
andrew
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2600
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2007 6:07 am

Re: Infinite Line / Ray - Break out understanding ...

Postby Husky » Tue Jul 29, 2014 6:53 pm

Thanks for this logical explanation - it makes sense!

Yes please, check out how other CAD systems handle this issue and keep me (us) posted.
Work smart, not hard: QCad Pro
User avatar
Husky
Moderator
 
Posts: 668
Joined: Wed May 11, 2011 9:25 am
Location: USA


Return to QCAD 3 'How Do I' Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest