find the start point of a polyline

Use this forum to ask questions about how to do things in QCAD.

Moderator: andrew

Forum rules

Always indicate your operating system and QCAD version.

Attach drawing files and screenshots.

Post one question per topic.

jamby

find the start point of a polyline

Post by jamby » Fri Jun 24, 2016 3:06 pm

Hi

I am new to qcad having just purchased 3.15.3.. running on Centos I am trying to work with a series of dxf files that I purchased to make cnc files for my machine. While cutting out these parts i need to start and end the cut froms certain locations so the parts don't break loose before the profile is finished. For the round parts now I have to create the gcode and watch the verification to see where they will start. I am hoping there is a function in qcad that would allow me to see the start location of the polyline that defines the part. Once I know where the part start point is I can rotate the part to a position that I need.

For the other parts (non-round) I have been exploding the polyline, deleting a straight line segment, joining the lines, then recreating the deleted line and finish by creating a new polyline with Draw>Polyline>Create from Segments.

If anyone knows of a function that would allow me to locate and move the start point of the polyline it would make this process much easier.

Thanks for your time
Jim

Husky
Moderator/Drawing Help/Testing

Re: find the start point of a polyline

Post by Husky » Fri Jun 24, 2016 8:16 pm

Hi Jim - welcome to the forum.
jamby wrote:... i need to start and end the cut froms certain locations so the parts don't break loose before the profile is finished.
Whats about holding tabs to keep the part in place?
jamby wrote:I am hoping there is a function in qcad that would allow me to see the start location of the polyline that defines the part. Once I know where the part start point is I can rotate the part to a position that I need.