TrueType Text Exploding failures

If you are having problems with QCAD version 3, post here. Please report bugs here.

Moderator: andrew

TrueType Text Exploding failures

Postby buitermark » Wed Sep 07, 2011 1:08 pm

I'm very new to cad, so maybe i'm doing something completely wrong, but i feel this might be a bug ..

When i make a text in a truetype font (Verdana for example) and than Select it and choose Modify, Explode the output looks good in QCad. Image
(example downloadable here: http://netcontrol.nl/qcad/welkom.dxf)

But when i import it in my favority CNC software (usbcnc, www.edingcnc.com) there's obviously something wrong here... Image

I just dived a bit deeper into this problem, and tested the same function in CamBam and that works great.
I just noticed that it seems something to do with the conversion of "spline" as the parts missing are all 'splines' Image

Am i doing something wrong or is this a bug ?

@Andrew: Great software, i'm absolutely buying a license from you. It's a very low learning curve for me. Keep going on this way!
buitermark
Newbie Member
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Sep 07, 2011 12:37 pm

Postby andrew » Wed Sep 07, 2011 1:18 pm

This appears to be a bug (or rather a limitation) in the other software you are using ("usbcnc"). It most likely simply does not support spline entities at all.

One potential fix is to also explode the splines in QCAD:

- Draw True Type text
- Select text and choose 'Modify' - 'Explode'
- Select all entities and choose 'Modify' - 'Explode' again. Lines and arcs will not be affected by this, splines are converted to polylines with line segments.

If usbcnc does not support polylines either, you can repeat the 'Select all' / 'Modify' - 'Explode' routine again to explode those as well.
User avatar
andrew
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2528
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2007 6:07 am

Postby andrew » Wed Sep 07, 2011 1:24 pm

By the way: I've noticed that your drawing rulers and some other GUI elements (property editor title bar) are black. This is wrong and likely caused by the theme that is used by your Gnome or KDE window manager.

A possible workaround for that could be to start QCAD with an alternative fixed style, for example:

./qcad -style plastique

Other supported styles are: cde, cleanlooks, motif, windows
User avatar
andrew
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2528
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2007 6:07 am

Postby buitermark » Wed Sep 07, 2011 1:28 pm

@Andrew: Man, you're quick and RIGHT!

See for youselve...
The second explode http://netcontrol.nl/qcad/qcadwelkompoly.png
and the correct result in USBCNC http://netcontrol.nl/qcad/welkompoly.png

I'm contacting Bert Eding (developer usbcnc) for this.

Thanks.
buitermark
Newbie Member
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Sep 07, 2011 12:37 pm

Postby buitermark » Wed Sep 07, 2011 1:30 pm

andrew wrote:By the way: I've noticed that your drawing rulers and some other GUI elements (property editor title bar) are black. This is wrong and likely caused by the theme that is used by your Gnome or KDE window manager.

A possible workaround for that could be to start QCAD with an alternative fixed style, for example:

./qcad -style plastique

Other supported styles are: cde, cleanlooks, motif, windows


Right again.. I tried the "BlueSteel" style.
Rulers come back when i choose "none" or another one.

Thanks
buitermark
Newbie Member
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Sep 07, 2011 12:37 pm


Return to QCAD 3 Troubleshooting and Problems

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests