Bitmap Export on Mac clips edges of objects

If you are having problems with QCAD version 3, post here. Please report bugs here.

Moderator: andrew

Bitmap Export on Mac clips edges of objects

Postby ts232 » Wed Dec 12, 2012 3:12 pm

When exporting a bitmap there is no padding around the objects, and they get clipped slightly. I posted a bug report on this many months ago, and just now noticed that you had replied with an "unable to reproduce". I am attaching the dxf and image files to this message and subsequent ones. My settings for export are the standard 640x480, white background. It does not seem to make any difference what file format I use. With Qcad 2.x I would get a nice few pixels padding around the objects.
Attachments
brakeshim-D991.png
brakeshim-D991.png (21.14 KiB) Viewed 1774 times
Last edited by ts232 on Wed Dec 12, 2012 3:16 pm, edited 1 time in total.
ts232
Newbie Member
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2009 6:23 pm

Re: Bitmap Export on Mac clips edges of objects

Postby ts232 » Wed Dec 12, 2012 3:13 pm

Here is the dxf file that produced the previous image:
Attachments
brakeshim-D991.dxf
(64.39 KiB) Downloaded 151 times
ts232
Newbie Member
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2009 6:23 pm

Re: Bitmap Export on Mac clips edges of objects

Postby ts232 » Wed Dec 12, 2012 3:15 pm

ts232
Newbie Member
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2009 6:23 pm

Re: Bitmap Export on Mac clips edges of objects

Postby Clive » Wed Dec 26, 2012 1:27 pm

Hello
I can reproduce this also on win 7-64 in QCAD 3, agreed the 'padding' as you say is absolutely perfect and this does result in a tightly cropped fit when exporting to a bitmap image, maybe a 'padding' border size option could be added to the export dialog here!

For now a workaround you could use is set out below, it`s not perfect but it may help you out for now :wink:

1.Set up new layer 'Marker' with color set to something you can see well e.g. Yellow.

bitmap export - workaround 1.png
bitmap export - workaround 1.png (32.46 KiB) Viewed 1664 times


2. Working on this new layer 'Marker' draw small circles where you need the border 'padding' to be.

bitmap export - workaround 2.png
bitmap export - workaround 2.png (23.24 KiB) Viewed 1664 times


3. Finally select these added circles and in the property editor change the radii to ' 0 '.

bitmap export - workaround 3.png
bitmap export - workaround 3.png (18.33 KiB) Viewed 1664 times


4. Export your file to bitmap and you should get a better result :D .

bitmap export - workaround 4.png
bitmap export - workaround 4.png (15.66 KiB) Viewed 1664 times


Hope this comes in useful for now.
User avatar
Clive
Moderator
 
Posts: 822
Joined: Thu Aug 25, 2011 9:28 pm
Location: UK


Return to QCAD 3 Troubleshooting and Problems

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest