Why is the Hatch loop not closed at a rectangle?

If you are having problems with QCAD version 3, post here. Please report bugs here.

Moderator: andrew

Why is the Hatch loop not closed at a rectangle?

Postby Husky » Sun May 26, 2013 10:43 pm

Case:
Drew a rectangle (RE),
Drew a second rectangle (RE) around the first rectangle,
trimmed four lines from the inner rectangle to the outer rectangle (see screen-shot),
selected the inner rectangle to fill it with a hatch,
A Warning message pops up that the loop isn't closed. Why isn't it closed? How can I close it?

Husky-2013.05.26-01.png
Husky-2013.05.26-01.png (10.21 KiB) Viewed 1585 times


Additional question to the hatch: I can't move (etc.) a hatch with a defined (except free) snap point? :cry:
User avatar
Husky
Moderator
 
Posts: 656
Joined: Wed May 11, 2011 9:25 am
Location: USA

Re: Why is the Hatch loop not closed at a rectangle?

Postby andrew » Mon May 27, 2013 8:04 am

You will need to cut the extended lines at the intersection point.

See also user manual about hatches, first figure. The hatch needs to be prepared as shown at the right side:
http://www.qcad.org/doc/qcad/3.1.0/refe ... ch_en.html
User avatar
andrew
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2557
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2007 6:07 am

Re: Why is the Hatch loop not closed at a rectangle?

Postby andrew » Mon May 27, 2013 8:07 am

Husky wrote:Additional question to the hatch: I can't move (etc.) a hatch with a defined (except free) snap point? :cry:


If you move a hatch using drag and drop, the closest reference point is used to position the hatch.

If you move a hatch using Modify - Move, you can choose a reference point using the snap tools and position it at the target point, also using an appropriate snap tool.

If you move a hatch using Cut with Reference & Paste, you can choose a reference point using snap tools when cutting, and use snap tools when pasting.

Perhaps there's a misunderstanding here. What kind of procedure are you trying to use?
User avatar
andrew
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2557
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2007 6:07 am

Re: Why is the Hatch loop not closed at a rectangle?

Postby Husky » Mon May 27, 2013 9:55 am

andrew wrote:The hatch needs to be prepared ...


Yep - thanks - that was my fear. :cry:
Right now I'm working on a simple Stained glass pattern. The idea was to put the glass colors as a solid hatch into the drawing. But if I have to prepare every single hatch area it will keep me busy for many hours. This is my first try with a simple design - but I have to accept that there is no way to do it on a normal, much more complicated design. :cry:

Husky-2013.05.27-01.png
Husky-2013.05.27-01.png (10.89 KiB) Viewed 1561 times


The second question was based on the matter of fact that I have to prepare those hatch areas. To get rid of this task I was thinking that I just have to prepare one area and copy the hatch in similar areas without the need of preparing every area again. I separated an existing solid triangle hatch and realized that there is no way to snap just a corner of this triangle - it needs a "non hatch" reference to do that.
User avatar
Husky
Moderator
 
Posts: 656
Joined: Wed May 11, 2011 9:25 am
Location: USA

Re: Why is the Hatch loop not closed at a rectangle?

Postby andrew » Mon May 27, 2013 10:17 am

Husky wrote:But if I have to prepare every single hatch area it will keep me busy for many hours. This is my first try with a simple design - but I have to accept that there is no way to do it on a normal, much more complicated design. :cry:


Yes. A feature request exists:
http://www.ribbonsoft.com/bugtracker/in ... ask_id=763

Definitely a non-trivial problem though.

Husky wrote:The second question was based on the matter of fact that I have to prepare those hatch areas. To get rid of this task I was thinking that I just have to prepare one area and copy the hatch in similar areas without the need of preparing every area again. I separated an existing solid triangle hatch and realized that there is no way to snap just a corner of this triangle - it needs a "non hatch" reference to do that.


You're right. I can see that I have introduced that limitation at one point (hatches are excluded from snapping) but I can't remember why. I will re-enable that for the next beta, unless I can figure out what the reason was.
User avatar
andrew
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2557
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2007 6:07 am

Re: Why is the Hatch loop not closed at a rectangle?

Postby Clive » Mon May 27, 2013 12:34 pm

Hi Husky
Nice project you are working on here :wink: , is it inspired by 'The Tree of Life' by Frank Lloyd Wright ?

I have encountered this problem too quite a bit when working with repeated patterns etc..

Until we have a better solution this is what I do, it still involves some work but it may help!

1. Make a copy of all the shapes that are repeated many times - Place on different layers and modify them as you need (Rotate, Mirror etc.).

Pattern set-up.png
Pattern set-up.png (6 KiB) Viewed 1545 times


2. Create 'Hatch' fills with the colours you need.

Pattern set-up 2.png
Pattern set-up 2.png (4.89 KiB) Viewed 1545 times


3 Now you can use the 'Copy with Reference' tool and snap to any position.

Pattern set-up 3.png
Pattern set-up 3.png (17.63 KiB) Viewed 1545 times


4.Now you can paste the shapes where you want to using the paste tools if needed.

Hope this helps :wink:
User avatar
Clive
Moderator
 
Posts: 909
Joined: Thu Aug 25, 2011 9:28 pm
Location: UK

Re: Why is the Hatch loop not closed at a rectangle?

Postby Husky » Mon May 27, 2013 9:00 pm

andrew wrote:A feature request exists:
http://www.ribbonsoft.com/bugtracker/in ... ask_id=763
I've seen this feature request and yes - I think that is the only way to go!


andrew wrote:I can see that I have introduced that limitation at one point (hatches are excluded from snapping) but I can't remember why. I will re-enable that for the next beta, unless I can figure out what the reason was.
Thanks!
User avatar
Husky
Moderator
 
Posts: 656
Joined: Wed May 11, 2011 9:25 am
Location: USA

Re: Why is the Hatch loop not closed at a rectangle?

Postby Husky » Mon May 27, 2013 9:39 pm

clive wrote:... is it inspired by 'The Tree of Life' by Frank Lloyd Wright ?
Yes it is ... :D

clive wrote:Until we have a better solution this is what I do, it still involves some work but it may help!
Thank you very much!

My point on this is more how easy a hatch has to be created. If I imagine how much work it is to prepare a transmission, cut in half, to do all hatches or to fill out a stained glass pattern like this ...

Husky-2013.05.27-01.png
Husky-2013.05.27-01.png (7.68 KiB) Viewed 1497 times

... then I think it would be more than nice to get a solution as caigner has described. I don't know how much work it is to program something like that but I have already worked with similar function ..... 25 - 30 years ago. :wink:
User avatar
Husky
Moderator
 
Posts: 656
Joined: Wed May 11, 2011 9:25 am
Location: USA


Return to QCAD 3 Troubleshooting and Problems

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 2 guests