Maximum arc length

If you are having problems with QCAD version 3, post here. Please report bugs here.

Moderator: andrew

Maximum arc length

Postby newinwit » Thu May 01, 2014 12:36 am

Dear Forum,
Does QCAD have a limit to the length of arcs?
I am having some trouble making qcad-pro draw very long arcs. Here is the situation: I draw a square with sides measuring, say, 2,000,000 units (inches). Then, using the Arc by 2 Points with Angle Tool, I use the mouse to draw a 90-degree arc from one corner to the opposite corner. The result: qcad starts to draw the arc, but the arc disappears midway to the other corner. I draw arcs just fine with dimensions under a million units. I am using QCAD 3.4.7 on Mac 10.6.8.

Sincerely,
-newinwit
newinwit
Junior Member
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Apr 30, 2014 3:36 pm

Re: Maximum arc length

Postby andrew » Thu May 01, 2014 11:14 am

Yes, I can confirm this limitation (max. arc radius is 1e6).
However, this limit to avoid slow rendering is no longer needed and has been removed for the next release.
User avatar
andrew
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2599
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2007 6:07 am

Re: Maximum arc length

Postby Clive » Thu May 01, 2014 12:19 pm

If it helps, for now as a workaround you can use the Ellipse tool.

Set Minor and Major axis.

Ellipse 1.png
Ellipse 1.png (2.81 KiB) Viewed 737 times


Ellipse 2.png
Ellipse 2.png (4.07 KiB) Viewed 737 times


Then Use the Divide tool, select first and second points and delete the part you don't need.

Ellipse 3.png
Ellipse 3.png (1.34 KiB) Viewed 737 times
Clive
User avatar
Clive
Moderator
 
Posts: 921
Joined: Thu Aug 25, 2011 9:28 pm
Location: UK

Re: Maximum arc length

Postby newinwit » Thu May 01, 2014 1:42 pm

That explains it. Thanks for the quick reply, Andrew and Clive. I suppose I'll have to forgo the abstract doodling until the next release...
newinwit
Junior Member
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Apr 30, 2014 3:36 pm

Re: Maximum arc length

Postby newinwit » Fri May 02, 2014 1:54 am

One more thing: Clive, your ellipse trick works like a charm. Thanks!
newinwit
Junior Member
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Apr 30, 2014 3:36 pm


Return to QCAD 3 Troubleshooting and Problems

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests