Import DXF

Use this forum to ask questions about how to do things in QCAD 2.1/2.2.

Moderator: andrew

iw2nzm
Newbie Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Jun 13, 2007 9:29 pm

Import DXF

Postby iw2nzm » Wed Jun 13, 2007 9:34 pm

Hello!

I'm using the demo version of QCAD and I'm going to buy the Pro version. I'd like to know if it can import AutoCAD dxf file. I tried with one but even if the layer list was complete, only few layers was visible.

Is there anything to do to open such a file?

thanks
Marco / iw2nzm

fridge
Newbie Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon May 28, 2007 8:56 am
Location: Netherlands

Postby fridge » Fri Jun 15, 2007 10:04 pm

Hi iw2nzm,

I had/have the same problems. As far as I can oversee it is no problem to import Autocad dxf-files, as long as they are the older versions, so no go for Autocad 2004/2007. I use a lot of external references and that is also a no go regarding importing. But standard drawings with nothing fancy in it are working fine.

Greetings,
Fridge

iw2nzm
Newbie Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Jun 13, 2007 9:29 pm

Postby iw2nzm » Sun Jun 17, 2007 7:30 pm

fridge wrote:Hi iw2nzm,

I had/have the same problems. As far as I can oversee it is no problem to import Autocad dxf-files, as long as they are the older versions, so no go for Autocad 2004/2007. I use a lot of external references and that is also a no go regarding importing. But standard drawings with nothing fancy in it are working fine.

Greetings,
Fridge


Fridge,

thanks for your answer. I'll try to open an older Autocad dxf file. Are there any plug-ins to import current Autocad dxf files?

Bye,
Marco / iw2nzm

fridge
Newbie Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon May 28, 2007 8:56 am
Location: Netherlands

Postby fridge » Sun Jun 17, 2007 9:13 pm

Hi Marco,

I'm sorry but I can't help you regarding importing newer versions of AutoCad-dxf files into QCad. I just use AutoCad and save the file in an older version. I really don't know if there are plug-ins or other tools to do this without using AutoCad.


With regards,
Fridge

iw2nzm
Newbie Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Jun 13, 2007 9:29 pm

Postby iw2nzm » Mon Jun 18, 2007 7:54 pm

Ok, thanks!

Marco / iw2nzm

SFC
Junior Member
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Apr 15, 2008 11:07 pm

dfx from autoCAd

Postby SFC » Tue Apr 15, 2008 11:27 pm

I find that it works fine if from the autocad program you do a save as and save it as a DFX 2004 format or older (dfx 2002 etc.). DFX format generally does not support xrefs, paper space and other advanced autocad stuff.


Return to “QCAD 2.1/2.2 'How Do I' Questions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests