block/insert attributes

Use this forum to ask questions about how to do things in QCAD 2.1/2.2.

Moderator: andrew

block/insert attributes

Postby luc3945 » Mon Mar 03, 2008 8:25 pm

I am new to Qcad, so I don't know if I misunderstood something.

If you create a block with entities, then the entities in the block have their own layer and pen attributes. When you make a insert from that block on your drawing, the insert has it own properties (such as layer and pen attributes).
I have tried to change the attributes from the insert (other layer and/or pen attributes), but the insert always displays with the pen attributes from the block. Is this the normal behaviour or am I wrong? Can an insert be made with different properties than the block it is made from?

Regards,
Luc
luc3945
Newbie Member
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Feb 27, 2008 8:15 pm

Re: block/insert attributes

Postby andrew » Mon Mar 03, 2008 8:42 pm

Try setting the attributes (color / line width / line style) of the entities inside your block to "ByBlock". ByBlock means that the entities will inherit their attributes from the block insert, so you can have instances of the same block with different attributes.

It is not possible to set the layer of an entity to be "ByBlock".

Note that this is very unusual. In almost 100% of all cases you will want to define the entity attributes by layer.
User avatar
andrew
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2526
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2007 6:07 am

Re: block/insert attributes

Postby luc3945 » Mon Mar 03, 2008 9:14 pm

Thank you for the quick reply. This seems to work.
luc3945
Newbie Member
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Feb 27, 2008 8:15 pm


Return to QCAD 2.1/2.2 'How Do I' Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest