decimal symbol

Use this forum to ask questions about how to do things in QCAD 2.1/2.2.

Moderator: andrew

scenodc
Registered Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Mar 17, 2008 5:40 pm
Location: france

decimal symbol

Postby scenodc » Mon Mar 17, 2008 6:40 pm

Hello,

I use the french localized version of QCad on a Mac OSX 10.5.2 system.
My numeric keypad type decimal coma (european decimal symbol), but QCad only recognize the decimal point, even with language preference on french...
Thus typing 54.25 (seeking "." from the num. keypad to the keyboard) is much longer and annoying.
The system preferences don't allow to choose a specific decimal symbol ; Is it possible to change it in QCad ?

User avatar
andrew
Site Admin
Posts: 4129
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2007 6:07 am

Postby andrew » Mon Mar 17, 2008 6:45 pm

No this is unfortunately not possible at this point. One reason is that coordinate pairs are typed in the command line as x,y. So "5.5,3" for x=5.5 and y=3 would become 5,5,3 when using a comma as separator which is ambiguous.

One possible solution would be to use another unused character to separate x from y, but that possibility is not available yet.

scenodc
Registered Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Mar 17, 2008 5:40 pm
Location: france

Postby scenodc » Tue Mar 18, 2008 8:35 pm

Thanks for your explanations Andrew.
I tried to use Swiss numbers format (international system prefs), which appeared to use decimal point, but nothing good.
And finally the solution was sooooo simple : combination key maj+decimal symbol (numeric keypad) types a "." instead of the ","...


Return to “QCAD 2.1/2.2 'How Do I' Questions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests