Tip - using the Clipboard

Tips and tricks you want to share with other users. Tutorials, user submitted documentation, etc.

Moderator: andrew

Tip - using the Clipboard

Postby Clive » Thu Jun 14, 2012 7:43 pm

Hi Guys

In QCAD 3 when copying or cutting entities to paste from one drawing to another open drawing we can make good use of the clipboard.When we open up the clipboard it will remain open when we switch from one drawing to another - very useful if you are working on a drawing and you need to remember what you have actually copied or cut!
The clipboard will show you the current copied or cut entities.
To view the clipboard go to main menu > View > Tool bars and tick the Clipboard
or
'Right click' the empty space in the main menu (or the empty beneath it) and again 'tick' the clipboard.
Attachments
using clipboard 1.png
using clipboard 1.png (53.75 KiB) Viewed 3793 times
using clipboard 2.png
using clipboard 2.png (266.54 KiB) Viewed 3793 times
User avatar
Clive
Moderator
 
Posts: 961
Joined: Thu Aug 25, 2011 9:28 pm
Location: UK

Re: Tip - using the Clipboard

Postby Alread27 » Fri Jun 22, 2012 6:12 pm

Clive,

This is very useful, and I would add the following if appropriate:

Copy/Paste doesn't appear work when two files are open in two separate QCad windows, but it works within same the QCad window (open one document, and File->Open second document).
Within the "same" document Copy/Paste thing works as folows:
Copy:
1. Edit->Copy (or Ctrl+C)
2. select objects you want to copy
3. on toolbar press right arrow
4. specify reference point by clicking or entering coordinates
(objects are copied)
Paste:
1. Edit->Paste (or Ctrl+V)
2. specify point where objects will be pasted (by clicking or entering coordinates).
Alread27
Registered Member
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Jun 22, 2012 5:59 pm

Re: Tip - using the Clipboard

Postby Clive » Mon Jun 25, 2012 10:54 pm

Alread27
Thanks for the feedback here - no problem with additional notes etc., the more the better, I don`t know everything :wink: (not yet anyways :lol: )
Agreed - this will only work if one or more drawings are opened in 'one' instance of QCAD, I think that is what you mean here? Because I can certainly open one document/file and then open another entirely different document/file and use copy/paste method with no problems.

Is this what you mean?

Or do you mean having two instances of the QCAD program open?

If it helps you could always attach a couple of your 'test' case files.
User avatar
Clive
Moderator
 
Posts: 961
Joined: Thu Aug 25, 2011 9:28 pm
Location: UK


Return to QCAD 3 Tips and Tutorials

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 1 guest