qcad won't hatch some selections

If you are having problems with QCAD 2.1/2.2, post here. Please report bugs here.

Moderator: andrew

klavs

qcad won't hatch some selections

Post by klavs » Wed Dec 01, 2010 9:24 am

Hi,

I'm rather new at qcad - and am having huge problems getting qcad to hatch.

You can see what I'm trying to hatch here:
http://vsen.dk/files/hus-forskudt-spaer-snit.png

and here's the DXF:
http://vsen.dk/files/hus-forskudt-spaer-snit.dxf

I've divided all lines that cross the area I want to hatch (to draw insulation) and have confirmed they are all divided at the intersection. Yet the hatch tool still doesn't succeed :(

As you can see I could get qcad to hatch some places.

Any hints would be very much appreciated.

p.s. I'm running 2.2.2.0 on Linux.

andrew
Site Admin

Post by andrew » Wed Dec 01, 2010 4:38 pm

Try putting all entities of your hatch boundary on one separate layer (good practice). Then make sure that there are no duplicate, missing or not properly connected entities.

You definitely should work with layers a lot more. Put all dimensions on a separate layer, all text labels on one, all hatch boundaries on one layer, all hatches on another, etc.

Without using layers your drawing very quickly becomes unmanageable.

klavs

Post by klavs » Wed Dec 01, 2010 5:12 pm

Can I still draw lines on layer1 - as a parallel - with a certain distance to a line on layer0 ? (that's what I need in this case).

Also - when I select all the entities that make up the hatch "block" - it looks correct - as all are divided where they should be, and together form a whole as they should.

Could you see any errors in the dxf file I linked to?