Editing blocks Problem

If you are having problems with QCAD 2.1/2.2, post here. Please report bugs here.

Moderator: andrew

Editing blocks Problem

Postby mikeperik » Fri Apr 13, 2007 4:17 am

Here are two images (hopefully)...

Image one shows what the entity looks like in the block edit mode.
Image
Image two shows what the entity looks like in the main window.
Image

Where are the two circles coming from?

Mike
mikeperik
Junior Member
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Apr 04, 2007 2:25 pm

Re: Editing blocks Problem

Postby andrew » Fri Apr 13, 2007 11:17 am

mikeperik wrote:Here are two images (hopefully)...

Where are the two circles coming from?

Mike


I cannot reproduce that problem. Could you make the DXF file available as well?

Thanks,
Andrew
User avatar
andrew
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2567
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2007 6:07 am

Postby mikeperik » Fri Apr 13, 2007 12:59 pm

I've put the file up http://www.periks.org/~mikep/stab-25in-r12.dxf

but they aren't there any more. Last night in an attempt to figure out the problem I closed the file and reloaded it and the circles where still there. I exited the program last night.

This morning I loaded the file and they are gone.

I had another problem with another block and it is gone as well.

Restarting the QCad seemed to fix the problem... :shock:

Mike
mikeperik
Junior Member
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Apr 04, 2007 2:25 pm

Postby mikeperik » Fri Apr 13, 2007 1:18 pm

I have another question regarding block and it may be related to my file.

If I don't have the 'stab-rib-top' layer visible and I select the block 'rib-1' and then click the 'edit block' button the entity is not visible. If I make the 'stab-rib-top' layer visible I can see the block entity for editing. [EDIT: figures this one out, the rib outline was in the stab-rib-top layer, odd thing is that it would not disappear when the stab-rib-top layer was made invisible. Could be I had a mix of entities in the block...? ]

I also noticed that after editing a block and closing the editor the main drawing doesn't show the results necessarily. If I click on block 'rib-1' and click on the edit button and delete the inside edge line(s) and the click on the 'x' of the block edit window the change does not seem to have happened. If I close the file and reopen it the change shows up.

Before going to block edit on the rib1 block
Image
After removing the inside line
Image
After closing the block edit window.
Image


Mike
mikeperik
Junior Member
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Apr 04, 2007 2:25 pm

Postby mikeperik » Fri Apr 13, 2007 10:19 pm

Got a new file. If I use the 'Draw Equidintant Polylines' tool on the rib and click on the outside of the rib 4 circles appear. If I click on the inside of the rib the circles do not appear.

Here is the DXF file.
http://www.periks.org:8081/~mikep/stab-25in-r12-2.dxf
Image

Any ideas why this is happening?

Mike
mikeperik
Junior Member
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Apr 04, 2007 2:25 pm

Postby andrew » Sat Apr 14, 2007 12:44 pm

mikeperik wrote:Got a new file. If I use the 'Draw Equidintant Polylines' tool on the rib and click on the outside of the rib 4 circles appear. If I click on the inside of the rib the circles do not appear.

Any ideas why this is happening?

Mike


It looks like these 'ribs' come in an extremely high resolution. Some segments are as small as 0.00001. As a result, some arc segments of the equidistant have identical start- and endpoints, so QCad assumes that they must be full circles. QCad will filter out these segments in upcoming versions when the equidistant is created.
User avatar
andrew
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2567
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2007 6:07 am


Return to QCAD 2.1/2.2 Troubleshooting and Problems

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron