Application Preferences do not persist between uses of QCAD

If you are having problems with QCAD 2.1/2.2, post here. Please report bugs here.

Moderator: andrew

PHOM
Newbie Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Aug 10, 2008 9:27 pm
Location: Pennsylvania, USA

Application Preferences do not persist between uses of QCAD

Postby PHOM » Sun Aug 10, 2008 9:46 pm

Being relatively new to Linux, I untarred my QCAD Professional to a download directory in my home directory. I tried the new program and then realized I should have untarred it to the usr/share/qcad directory. So I moved it there. It runs and I now have help again which required the deletion of the ~/.assistant directory for it to resync.

The problem I have now is that the Application Preferences do not persist between uses of the program. I also noticed that it never made a ~/.qcad directory. I made one but it didn't help.

Can anyone tell me how to get the preferences to persist?

Thanks,
PHOM

PHOM
Newbie Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Aug 10, 2008 9:27 pm
Location: Pennsylvania, USA

Application Preferences do not persist between uses of QCAD

Postby PHOM » Sun Aug 10, 2008 9:54 pm

One other thing I have noticed is that the Welcome box comes up each time I start QCAD. I would expect it to only come up the first time. Could it require some special permissions to allow it to write to where ever it persists data? If so how would I set them?

Do the Application/Paths need to be filled in? They come up blank.

Thanks
PHOM

User avatar
andrew
Site Admin
Posts: 4259
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2007 6:07 am

Postby andrew » Mon Aug 11, 2008 7:52 am

You can untar the archive wherever you prefer.
Preferences are stored in ~/.config/RibbonSoft/QCad.ini, so you need read/write access to that directory which should be the case since that is in your home directory.

PHOM
Newbie Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Aug 10, 2008 9:27 pm
Location: Pennsylvania, USA

Application Preferences do not persist between uses of QCAD

Postby PHOM » Sat Aug 23, 2008 4:08 pm

Thanks, Andrew. That helped. The file did wind up owned by Root with restricted access so I changed it to Read /Write for all. It now works fine.
THanks again.
:D
PHOM


Return to “QCAD 2.1/2.2 Troubleshooting and Problems”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests