Trim not always working

If you are having problems with QCAD 2.1/2.2, post here. Please report bugs here.

Moderator: andrew

Trim not always working

Postby barjac » Wed Mar 25, 2009 3:24 pm

Could someone please tell me if this is a bug, or why trim fails in this simple example?
EDIT
http://i115.photobucket.com/albums/n287 ... cadbox.jpg
Draw the outer box using the box tool and then draw parallel lines inside each side.
Try to trim the inner large square with either trim or trim both. This seems to happen regularly in larger more complex drawings and it's becoming a real problem.
Version: 2.2.2.0 [Professional] Date: Aug 28 2008 in Mandriva 2009.0 Linux
Thanks,
Barry

Or save the text in this link as box.dxf
http://pastebin.com/f528e28bb
Last edited by barjac on Tue Apr 21, 2009 8:39 am, edited 2 times in total.
barjac
Junior Member
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Aug 20, 2008 8:38 pm

Postby J-J » Fri Apr 03, 2009 6:43 pm

Hello,
Both tools worked ok when I tried your example...(Win XP, QCad 2.2.2.0)
JJ
User avatar
J-J
Moderator
 
Posts: 173
Joined: Tue Mar 24, 2009 9:48 pm

Postby barjac » Fri Apr 03, 2009 7:03 pm

Hi J-J
Thanks for your reply.
Maybe this is something specific to the Linux version. I will install it in a different Linux installation just to check it's not something to do with this one.
Cherrs,
Barry

EDIT I just tried this in the latest Mandriva Cooker and it's the same - anyone able to confirm this is a bug?
IIF(!broke,fixit(.f.),fixit(.t.))
barjac
Junior Member
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Aug 20, 2008 8:38 pm

Postby andrew » Thu Apr 23, 2009 11:50 am

The problem appears to be the very small scale of your drawing. Try changing your drawing unit from meters to e.g. mm and scale the drawing appropriately.

I also saw that many of the lines are duplicated on top of each other. Select all and check the number of selected entities in the status bar. Should be 8 only. Delete double entities.
User avatar
andrew
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2554
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2007 6:07 am

Postby barjac » Thu Apr 23, 2009 2:08 pm

Thanks for your reply Andrew
I understood that the concept of "scale" was only relevant to printing, so I am slightly confused.
Anyhow - leaving that aside - I have been working on a 12m long building drawing - hence the 1 meter units which are most appropriate. So is it unreasonable to want to draw let's say the cross section of 30 x 30 x 3mm angle iron in the detail of my drawing?
Using a similar method to my box sample trim fails in this. i.e. draw two .030m joined lines at 90 degrees for the outside of the angle and then draw two parallel lines spaced .003m on the inside of the angle. Then try to trim the inside corner.
I have tested at larger sizes and it does work, but what is the size limit and why?
This does seem to be a bug.

Yes there were multiple entities in my sample - not sure how that happened.
IIF(!broke,fixit(.f.),fixit(.t.))
barjac
Junior Member
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Aug 20, 2008 8:38 pm

Postby Gooserider » Wed Aug 19, 2009 7:15 am

Have you tried zooming way in on the picture? I have sometimes had trouble getting trim to work well, and found that it helped to zoom in until there was little more visible on the screen than the intersection I was trying to trim... Maybe it's my aged eyeballs, :( but I seem to have trouble selecting the line clearly if I don't get in close enough on the details.

Gooserider
beginner
Gooserider
Junior Member
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Wed May 30, 2007 3:57 am
Location: MA, USA, North America, Earth, etc.


Return to QCAD 2.1/2.2 Troubleshooting and Problems

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests