precision of parallel lines

If you are having problems with QCAD 2.1/2.2, post here. Please report bugs here.

Moderator: andrew

tyke
Junior Member
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Mar 25, 2009 10:42 am
Location: Parma

precision of parallel lines

Postby tyke » Wed Apr 01, 2009 8:44 am

If I draw a line starting at the origin then use the parallel line tool, the new line starts at a finite X or Y value eg 6.1234 e-17.
Not a show stopper but curious.
Also I was wondering if this offset was included in other lines but not seen.

Using Mac OS X 10.4.11

User avatar
andrew
Site Admin
Posts: 4271
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2007 6:07 am

Postby andrew » Wed Apr 01, 2009 11:10 am

This has to do with the way how computers store real numbers. For details, please refer to:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Floating_p ... y_problems


Return to “QCAD 2.1/2.2 Troubleshooting and Problems”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests