MIgrating to Mint 11 with QCad Pro

Post your question about installing or upgrading to QCAD 2.1/2.2. Be sure to search, and check the docs before you post!

Moderator: andrew

MIgrating to Mint 11 with QCad Pro

Postby s_raiguel » Mon Jan 09, 2012 11:37 pm

I have been using QCad Pro for two years now under Ubuntu Linux, and would like to migrate to Mint Linux. However, my old downloaded QCad Pro binary will not run on the new Mint 11 installation: Nothing happens when I double-click the binary in Nautilus, and the terminal does nothing when I try to run it from the command line.

Is there some kind of "product activation" that is necessary, or is QCad Pro simply incompatible with Mint Linux? Yet, the free version of QCad seems to work on Mint 11, but the Pro version, for which I've bought the license, doesn't seem to work.
s_raiguel
Newbie Member
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Jan 09, 2012 11:27 pm

Postby andrew » Mon Jan 09, 2012 11:53 pm

Mint Linux is not supported at this point. You might be able to fix the problem by installing (compatibility) libraries. Please check with the command "ldd", which libraries are missing:

ldd qcad
User avatar
andrew
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2529
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2007 6:07 am

Postby s_raiguel » Tue Jan 10, 2012 12:27 am

Thank you for your response.

"ldd qcad" results in the message "not a dynamic executable" which appears to have something to do with trying to run a 32-bit program within a 64-bit operating system (such as this one).

It would be a pity if QCad cannot be run under Mint. I'm becoming increasingly disenchanted with Ubuntu, and prefer the Mint interface. However, Qcad is not a program I can do without. If I can't get it to run under Mint, then I will be stuck with Ubuntu.
s_raiguel
Newbie Member
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Jan 09, 2012 11:27 pm

Postby andrew » Tue Jan 10, 2012 9:08 am

On 64bit systems, you will have to install compatibility libraries (most likely packages called ia32-libs and ia32-libs-gtk).
User avatar
andrew
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2529
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2007 6:07 am

Postby s_raiguel » Tue Jan 10, 2012 10:17 am

Yes!! Installing ia32-libs did the trick. It must be that this library is installed by default on 64-bit Ubuntu, but not Mint.

Thank you so much, Andrew!
s_raiguel
Newbie Member
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Jan 09, 2012 11:27 pm

Postby Clive » Tue Jan 17, 2012 10:22 pm

s_raiguel wrote:Yes!! Installing ia32-libs did the trick. It must be that this library is installed by default on 64-bit Ubuntu, but not Mint.

Thank you so much, Andrew!


for info:


No
-in Ubuntu-64 the ia32libs are not there by default, I had to install these separately as well recently!
User avatar
Clive
Moderator
 
Posts: 899
Joined: Thu Aug 25, 2011 9:28 pm
Location: UK

Postby s_raiguel » Tue Jan 17, 2012 10:59 pm

No -in Ubuntu-64 the ia32libs are not there by default, I had to install these separately as well recently!

I went back and checked with my installation of Ubuntu 10.04, the last LTS version of Ubuntu. I see that at that time, ia32-libs was still included by default. Since Mint 11 is based on a later version of Ubuntu (10.10? 11.04? - whatever) it would seem that both have seen fit to stop including this compatibility library.
s_raiguel
Newbie Member
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Jan 09, 2012 11:27 pm


Return to QCAD 2.1/2.2 Installation and Upgrades

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests