Installation on Ubuntu 7.10

Post your question about installing or upgrading to QCAD 2.1/2.2. Be sure to search, and check the docs before you post!

Moderator: andrew

Installation on Ubuntu 7.10

Postby impert » Sat Dec 15, 2007 5:03 pm

Hullo,
I started this post to tell you that I was unable to install Qcad in Ubuntu..

Not so any longer, :D but it might have been easier if there were a little more help on the downloads page. - I found out how to do it by mixing the advice on this forum:
http://linux-cd.com.ar/manuales/qcad/004.html
with the info in §5.1 of the Reference Manual from the Qcad copy installed on my Mac - which is not available (unless I'm mistaken) until you've got the thing up and running!
A small README file in the package (but not zipped) would be an alternative. We Linux users are not all geeks, you know!
Thanks for a great product, it seems to have got even better since v.2.0


(Edited by impert 21 - 04 - 08 )
The link above has changed and now only gives the Spanish version of the manual
Last edited by impert on Mon Apr 21, 2008 4:14 pm, edited 1 time in total.
impert
Junior Member
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Fri Apr 27, 2007 5:35 pm
Location: Redon,France

For all the newbies using Ubuntu...

Postby jaime » Wed Feb 27, 2008 11:20 am

I have Ubuntu 7.10, but I think most of the new versions should work the same. On your desktop just go to Applications-Add/Remove Programs and type qcad in the search window. This will bring up the list of in the programs and just make sure you check QCAD and click/apply changes to install it. That's all.

Okay, I noticed this post is kind of old, but either way I just thought this may help someone.
jaime
Junior Member
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Feb 20, 2008 10:10 pm

Ubuntu 7.10

Postby j8a » Fri Apr 04, 2008 3:38 pm

I have installed QCad 2.05 from the synaptic package manager without problems, also get the libraries. However, I have any problems on the interpretation of the electrical, electronic and mechanical symbols.
Has anyone can help me?
QCAD is really beautifull
j8a
Registered Member
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Apr 04, 2008 3:26 pm

Qcad and Ubuntu/Debian

Postby impert » Mon Apr 21, 2008 4:08 pm

Hullo,
Following a re-installation of Ubuntu on my PC I'm trying to get Qcad up and running again. I've downloaded 2.2.0.0-2 and done this:

Code: Select all
cd /tmp
gunzip qcad-1.4.8-i386.tar.gz
tar xfv qcad-1.4.8-i386.tar


but when I type

Code: Select all
./setup.sh


I get:
bash: ./setup.sh: No such file or directory

Is there an equivalent to setup in bash?

Note 1: Can't remember how I solved it last time. The link in my first post has changed and now just gives the Spanish for the manual page.
Note 2: Add/Remove programs, apt-get install, etc give the Community version 2.05., I've paid for the Professional version, which is a great improvement.
Note 3: I still think a small readme in the package would be a good idea.

Thanks for any help.
impert
Junior Member
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Fri Apr 27, 2007 5:35 pm
Location: Redon,France

Postby andrew » Mon Apr 21, 2008 6:30 pm

There is no setup.sh file in the QCad package. Simply run QCad after extracting the downloaded file:

./qcad
User avatar
andrew
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2604
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2007 6:07 am

Postby impert » Mon Apr 21, 2008 9:53 pm

Thanks for the quick reply.
Unfortunately,
$
Code: Select all
 ls -l
total 36
drwxr-xr-x  2 root root 4096 2007-10-16 01:16 bin
drwxr-xr-x  2 root root 4096 2007-10-16 01:16 etc
drwxr-xr-x  2 root root 4096 2007-10-16 01:16 games
drwxr-xr-x  2 root root 4096 2007-10-16 01:16 include
drwxr-xr-x  3 root root 4096 2008-04-20 22:18 lib
lrwxrwxrwx  1 root root    9 2008-04-20 23:08 man -> share/man
drwxr-xr-x 10 root root 4096 2008-04-21 01:11 qcad-2.2.0.0-2-prof.linux.x86
drwxr-xr-x  2 root root 4096 2007-10-16 01:16 sbin
drwxr-xr-x 12 root root 4096 2008-04-20 22:27 share
drwxr-xr-x  2 root root 4096 2007-10-16 01:16 src
$ ./qcad
sh: ./qcad: not found


I'd already tried this.
impert
Junior Member
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Fri Apr 27, 2007 5:35 pm
Location: Redon,France

Postby andrew » Mon Apr 21, 2008 10:00 pm

try this:

Code: Select all
cd qcad-2.2.0.0-2-prof.linux.x86
./qcad


What this actually does is: "cd qcad-2.2.0.0-2-prof.linux.x86" changes into the directory "qcad-2.2.0.0-2-prof.linux.x86". This is the directory where you have extracted QCad. All files that have anything to do with QCad are inside that directory (including the QCad application itself). "./qcad" launches the QCad application. "qcad" is the name of the file that contains the QCad application. It is a file on your hard drive that can be executed.
User avatar
andrew
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2604
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2007 6:07 am

Postby impert » Mon Apr 21, 2008 10:34 pm

No luck.

$ cd qcad-2.2.0.0-2-prof.linux.x86
$
$ ./qcad
sh: ./qcad: not found
$ pwd
/usr/local/qcad-2.2.0.0-2-prof.linux.x86

but I have noticed that I've succeeded in changing into the sh shell - it didn't want to work before, must require rebooting.

(edit) . . . but that doesn't seem to help much:
Code: Select all
$ pwd
/usr/local/qcad-2.2.0.0-2-prof.linux.x86
$ ./setup.sh
sh: ./setup.sh: not found
impert
Junior Member
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Fri Apr 27, 2007 5:35 pm
Location: Redon,France

Postby andrew » Mon Apr 21, 2008 11:13 pm

setup.sh definitely is not needed. There is no setup.sh script included with QCad.

Can you give me an "ls -la" from /usr/local/qcad-2.2.0.0-2-prof.linux.x86?
User avatar
andrew
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2604
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2007 6:07 am

Postby impert » Mon Apr 21, 2008 11:17 pm

Here it is

$ pwd
/usr/local/qcad-2.2.0.0-2-prof.linux.x86
$ ls -la
total 17352
drwxr-xr-x 10 root root 4096 2008-04-21 01:11 .
drwxr-xr-x 11 root root 4096 2008-04-21 01:11 ..
drwxr-xr-x 2 root root 4096 2008-04-21 01:11 bin
drwxr-xr-x 3 root root 4096 2008-04-21 01:11 doc
drwxr-xr-x 2 root root 4096 2008-04-21 01:11 examples
drwxr-xr-x 2 root root 4096 2008-04-21 01:11 fonts
drwxr-xr-x 4 root root 4096 2008-04-21 01:11 library
drwxr-xr-x 2 root root 4096 2008-04-21 01:11 patterns
-rwxr-xr-x 1 root root 17699344 2008-04-21 14:10 qcad
drwxr-xr-x 2 root root 4096 2008-04-21 01:11 qm
drwxr-xr-x 2 root root 4096 2008-04-21 01:11 scripts



I got the ./setup.sh from the manual, I think.


This creates the the files needed for the installation. Now start the setup tool which guides you through the rest of the setup process:




./setup.sh
impert
Junior Member
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Fri Apr 27, 2007 5:35 pm
Location: Redon,France

Postby andrew » Tue Apr 22, 2008 7:50 am

This should work:
cd /usr/local/qcad-2.2.0.0-2-prof.linux.x86
./qcad

If not, there should be a more decent error message than "file not found", since the file "qcad" is definitely there and is executable.

Please note that the manual you are referring to is outdated (QCad 1.x). The manual for QCad 2.x can be found here:
http://www.ribbonsoft.com/qcad/manual_reference/
User avatar
andrew
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2604
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2007 6:07 am

Postby impert » Tue Apr 22, 2008 8:29 am

This is what I get:
cam@cwpc:~$ cd /usr/local/qcad-2.2.0.0-2-prof.linux.x86
cam@cwpc:/usr/local/qcad-2.2.0.0-2-prof.linux.x86$ ./qcad
bash: ./qcad: No such file or directory
cam@cwpc:/usr/local/qcad-2.2.0.0-2-prof.linux.x86$
impert
Junior Member
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Fri Apr 27, 2007 5:35 pm
Location: Redon,France

Postby andrew » Tue Apr 22, 2008 8:43 am

Nothing trivial then. Some more ideas:

What is the output of
Code: Select all
file ./qcad
ldd ./qcad


What is your exact version of Ubuntu and what is the output of
Code: Select all
uname -a
User avatar
andrew
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2604
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2007 6:07 am

Postby impert » Tue Apr 22, 2008 9:17 am

cam@cwpc:/usr/local/qcad-2.2.0.0-2-prof.linux.x86$ file ./qcad
./qcad: ELF 32-bit LSB executable, Intel 80386, version 1 (SYSV), for GNU/Linux 2.2.5, dynamically linked (uses shared libs), stripped
[1]+ Exit 127 ./qcad
cam@cwpc:/usr/local/qcad-2.2.0.0-2-prof.linux.x86$ ldd ./qcad
not a dynamic executable
cam@cwpc:/usr/local/qcad-2.2.0.0-2-prof.linux.x86$


Ubuntu 7.10 for amd64. I've just re-installed it and updated after a boot problem.

cam@cwpc:/usr/local/qcad-2.2.0.0-2-prof.linux.x86$ uname -a
Linux cwpc 2.6.22-14-generic #1 SMP Tue Feb 12 02:46:46 UTC 2008 x86_64 GNU/Linux
impert
Junior Member
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Fri Apr 27, 2007 5:35 pm
Location: Redon,France

Postby andrew » Tue Apr 22, 2008 9:23 am

I'm not sure how you can run a 32bit binary on a 64bit platform. You might want to ask people in some Linux forums or google for that. Anyway, that seems to be the issue here. You might have to install some compatibility libraries or such.
User avatar
andrew
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2604
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2007 6:07 am

Next

Return to QCAD 2.1/2.2 Installation and Upgrades

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron