What means: Polylines, Geometry, Closed: Yes/No

If you are having problems with QCAD version 3, post here. Please report bugs here.

Moderator: andrew

User avatar
Husky
Moderator/Drawing Help/Testing
Posts: 1284
Joined: Wed May 11, 2011 9:25 am
Location: USA

What means: Polylines, Geometry, Closed: Yes/No

Postby Husky » Sun May 18, 2014 8:27 pm

Hi everybody - I've a question ... :shock:

If I draw a rectangle, create from segments a Polyline and check then the Property editor info - it will tell me that the Polyline isn't closed.
Why not?

Now I have the option to switch from closed "no" to closed "yes" - what happens with my Polyline in that case? I can't see any differences ...


QCAD 3.5.1 / Polyline selected, Property editor, Geometry, Closed: Yes/No
Work smart, not hard: QCad Pro

User avatar
andrew
Site Admin
Posts: 4271
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2007 6:07 am

Re: What means: Polylines, Geometry, Closed: Yes/No

Postby andrew » Mon May 19, 2014 11:08 am

A polyline can be visibly closed if the end point happens to be at the same position as the start point.

However, a polyline can also be logically closed. In this case, QCAD shows the polyline with an additional segment from the end point to the start point.
This design stems from the DXF / DWG formats.

User avatar
Husky
Moderator/Drawing Help/Testing
Posts: 1284
Joined: Wed May 11, 2011 9:25 am
Location: USA

Re: What means: Polylines, Geometry, Closed: Yes/No

Postby Husky » Mon May 19, 2014 4:01 pm

Thanks for explanation. :D
Work smart, not hard: QCad Pro


Return to “QCAD 3 Troubleshooting and Problems”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests