[solved] "Lengthen to"

Please use this forum to post feedback and suggestions related to QCAD version 3

Moderator: andrew

[solved] "Lengthen to"

Postby kazmer » Wed Jun 18, 2014 12:06 am

I've been pondering. If you want to go from this:
from.png
from.png (801 Bytes) Viewed 427 times

to this:
to.png
to.png (848 Bytes) Viewed 427 times

the only option is basically to over-lengthen, then break out (trim, whatever).

How about an option to Lengthen that, instead of specifying an exact amount to lengthen by, would interactively follow the path of the lengthened entity, and, along the way, use usual snap rules, thereby achieving the example above precisely yet in one step?

As Lengthen works with arcs too, it would by nature work with arcs as well.

(BTW, why does Lengthen not work with ellipse segments? Just curious.)
kazmer
Junior Member
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed Aug 21, 2013 1:26 am

Re: "Lengthen to"

Postby Husky » Wed Jun 18, 2014 7:28 am

kazmer wrote:... the only option is basically to over-lengthen, then break out (trim, whatever).


You are sure? :wink:

What's about the tool "Trim (RM)"? This tool will Trim or extend a line, arc or ellipse to another entity. Wouldn't that work for you?

Husky-2014.06.17-01.png
Husky-2014.06.17-01.png (10.45 KiB) Viewed 418 times
Work smart, not hard: QCad Pro
User avatar
Husky
Moderator
 
Posts: 667
Joined: Wed May 11, 2011 9:25 am
Location: USA

Re: "Lengthen to"

Postby Clive » Wed Jun 18, 2014 9:10 am

As Husky say's, the Trim tool is the one to use.
kazmer wrote:(BTW, why does Lengthen not work with ellipse segments? Just curious.)


The lengthen tool will work with lines and arc's, for elliptical arc's (segments) you will need to break it down a little, by using the explode tool a couple of times to go from ellipse to Polyline to arc! Ellipses/elliptical arcs have different working parameters involved.

The Trim tool will work on both arcs and elliptical arcs providing they are close enough to intersect with the entity you want to Trim (extend) to.

Of course in the case of your two lines you could just select the white line and drag the Blue anchor point to a new position :wink: .
Clive
User avatar
Clive
Moderator
 
Posts: 918
Joined: Thu Aug 25, 2011 9:28 pm
Location: UK

Re: "Lengthen to"

Postby kazmer » Wed Jun 18, 2014 11:47 am

Ah, yes! That's it, XT and RM (and TM) are what I was looking for.

Thanks, guys :)
kazmer
Junior Member
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed Aug 21, 2013 1:26 am


Return to QCAD 3 Suggestions and Feedback

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

cron