Application Preferences do not persist between uses of QCAD

If you are having problems with QCAD 2.1/2.2, post here. Please report bugs here.

Moderator: andrew

Application Preferences do not persist between uses of QCAD

Postby PHOM » Sun Aug 10, 2008 9:46 pm

Being relatively new to Linux, I untarred my QCAD Professional to a download directory in my home directory. I tried the new program and then realized I should have untarred it to the usr/share/qcad directory. So I moved it there. It runs and I now have help again which required the deletion of the ~/.assistant directory for it to resync.

The problem I have now is that the Application Preferences do not persist between uses of the program. I also noticed that it never made a ~/.qcad directory. I made one but it didn't help.

Can anyone tell me how to get the preferences to persist?

Thanks,
PHOM
PHOM
Newbie Member
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Aug 10, 2008 9:27 pm
Location: Pennsylvania, USA

Application Preferences do not persist between uses of QCAD

Postby PHOM » Sun Aug 10, 2008 9:54 pm

One other thing I have noticed is that the Welcome box comes up each time I start QCAD. I would expect it to only come up the first time. Could it require some special permissions to allow it to write to where ever it persists data? If so how would I set them?

Do the Application/Paths need to be filled in? They come up blank.

Thanks
PHOM
PHOM
Newbie Member
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Aug 10, 2008 9:27 pm
Location: Pennsylvania, USA

Postby andrew » Mon Aug 11, 2008 7:52 am

You can untar the archive wherever you prefer.
Preferences are stored in ~/.config/RibbonSoft/QCad.ini, so you need read/write access to that directory which should be the case since that is in your home directory.
User avatar
andrew
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2520
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2007 6:07 am

Application Preferences do not persist between uses of QCAD

Postby PHOM » Sat Aug 23, 2008 4:08 pm

Thanks, Andrew. That helped. The file did wind up owned by Root with restricted access so I changed it to Read /Write for all. It now works fine.
THanks again.
:D
PHOM
PHOM
Newbie Member
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Aug 10, 2008 9:27 pm
Location: Pennsylvania, USA


Return to QCAD 2.1/2.2 Troubleshooting and Problems

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests