Using offset commands

Use this forum to ask questions about how to do things in CAM Expert.

Moderator: andrew

mjkahler
Registered Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Sep 14, 2008 6:38 pm
Location: Coloarado,USA

Using offset commands

Postby mjkahler » Sun Sep 14, 2008 6:43 pm

I cannot find any documentation regarding the use of g41 and g42 offset commands... I am using an amada laser and cannot get the output files to offset to the correct side of the feature.. They generate to the center of the line only....Any suggestions???? :?: :?:

User avatar
andrew
Site Admin
Posts: 4260
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2007 6:07 am

Postby andrew » Mon Sep 15, 2008 8:16 am

The reason why you cannot find any documentation about this is that
CAM Expert does not directly support any type of specific commands
or formats (including G-Code).

CAM Expert outputs whatever is configured in the machine configuration
file (.cxm) which is used for the CAD -> CAM conversion. If there are
any G40/G41/G42 codes in there, they will be output to your file.
In fact you can output anything to the CNC file.

I.e. CAM Expert does not know or understand G-Code or any other
machine languages. It simply writes whatever is configured in the
.cxm file, be it G-Code, HP/GL or any other file format or language.

CAM Expert can use tool offset corrections under the following condition:
- All contours are closed and have the same orientation (clockwise
or counter-clockwise). Note that CAM Expert can automatically reorder
all closed contours in one or the other orientation (see CAM export dialog).

If this is the case, you can simply output a static G41 or G42 in
the order that starts a new contour (OrderContourStart) and a G40
in OrderContourEnd.

If your drawing is more complex than that, you might want to split it
up in a drawing that contains all CW contours, one with all CCW contours,
one with all open countours, etc.


Return to “CAM Expert 'How Do I' Questions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests