Block editing and saving

Please use this forum to post feedback and suggestions related to QCAD Professional.

Moderator: andrew

Block editing and saving

Postby ambra » Fri Oct 17, 2008 9:46 pm

When I make block from a selection on the drawing, and then edit it, QCad opens a new window displaying selected block. When I try to save the block as a separate file (for parts library) QCad saves whole drawing, with all layers and blocks.

Is this default behavior? It seems to me that QCad should save only the selected block, not the whole drawing...
ambra
Newbie Member
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Oct 23, 2007 8:34 pm

Postby andrew » Fri Oct 17, 2008 9:48 pm

Yes, this is normal behavior. Note that if you are editing a block, you are still editing the drawing the block belongs to since blocks are stored in a drawing.

To extend the part library, please create a normal drawing without any blocks in it and save it to the library directory of QCAD.
User avatar
andrew
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2373
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2007 6:07 am

Postby barjac » Wed Nov 05, 2008 12:44 am

You can do what you want by selecting the block in your drawing.
Copy the selection. 'Edit->Copy'
Open a new drawing.
Paste the block into the new drawing, and move it's reference point to the red cross.
Explode the block (by selecting it then 'Modify->Explode')
Then save it to your library as whatever name you wish..
Make sure that it's reference point is on the red cross before saving it, otherwise it will land in an unexpected part of your drawing when you use the library item later.
HTH
IIF(!broke,fixit(.f.),fixit(.t.))
barjac
Junior Member
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Aug 20, 2008 8:38 pm


Return to QCAD 2.1/2.2 Suggestions and Feedback

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests