Cannot modify entity properties in imported dxf

Use this forum to ask questions about how to do things in the QCAD Community Edition.

Moderator: andrew

Cannot modify entity properties in imported dxf

Postby gaumaugher » Fri May 15, 2009 3:10 am

I have a Visio file I saved as a DXF. When I open it in QCad, I can select and delete entities or select and end point of a line and move it with the mouse. I cannot bring up the dialog box to edit the properties. If I add a line, I can edit its properties. Does anyone have any clues on what I can do to fix this issue? If I cannot see the entity properties, I have to start over on the drawings and will lose a lot of hours. Thanks for any suggestions.
gaumaugher
Newbie Member
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri May 15, 2009 2:58 am

Postby janif » Fri May 15, 2009 6:37 am

Have you tried to save your drawing as a new file and reload it. Maybe you could try to exit qcad and restart and reload.

There are many memory leaks in qcad 2.0.5.0 so I wouldn't wonder if restart is sometimes necessary.
janif
Junior Member
 
Posts: 23
Joined: Sat Jan 19, 2008 7:28 pm

Postby gaumaugher » Fri May 15, 2009 12:06 pm

Just tried saving the drawing and rebooting Ubuntu with no change. The line that I added acted completely normal and the lines that existed in the dxf export do not show a dialog box when I try to edit their properties. I will try bringing the drawing into Volo View and exporting from there. Maybe it is a Visio problem. I will report back.

I was thinking that Volo View allowed you to save your markup in dxf but it doesn't so I printed it to a pdf and used PDF to DXF converter to get the DXF file. Same result. Any entity existing in the drawing cannot be modified with the edit properties command. Any new entities that I add can be modified.
gaumaugher
Newbie Member
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri May 15, 2009 2:58 am

Postby andrew » Mon May 18, 2009 9:21 am

Those entities you cannot modify might be polylines. Try to explode them.

Use the property editor widget to inspect and display the type of an entity:

View - Toolbars - Property Editor
User avatar
andrew
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2617
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2007 6:07 am

Postby gaumaugher » Mon May 18, 2009 7:48 pm

That was it. All I had to do was explode the line. Thanks.
gaumaugher
Newbie Member
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri May 15, 2009 2:58 am


Return to QCAD Community 'How Do I' Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron