I don't understand how hatching works

Use this forum to ask questions about how to do things in QCAD 2.1/2.2.

Moderator: andrew

I don't understand how hatching works

Postby bigbill55 » Sun Jun 14, 2009 12:27 am

i am having a problem understanding how the hatching works, If i open a new drawing I can draw a circle with a radius go to hatching and highlight the circle and apply a hatch pattern. I can also draw a box and go to hatching and highlight the box and apply a hatch pattern.
here is where my question is If i draw an oval go to hatching highlight the oval the hatching does not apply to the oval. The same is true when i draw a box with four intersecting lines, i go to hatching highlight the four lines and again the hatching does not apply. Please help i do not understand what i am doing wrong

thank you
bill
bigbill55
Registered Member
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Jun 01, 2009 9:01 pm

Postby J-J » Mon Jun 15, 2009 8:22 am

Hi Bill,

I too, have found the hatching function a bit tricky at times. It works on closed entities. Four intersecting lines leave unclosed sections. Either you trim the corners, and you are back to your box, or use "divide" to define the segments for the contour.
You are right, hatching does not work on the ellipse, there must be some other subtlety to that.
Good luck.
JJ
User avatar
J-J
Moderator
 
Posts: 173
Joined: Tue Mar 24, 2009 9:48 pm

Postby andrew » Mon Jun 15, 2009 11:54 am

To hatch an ellipse, you'd have to explode it first.
User avatar
andrew
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2548
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2007 6:07 am

Postby J-J » Mon Jun 15, 2009 12:17 pm

Thanks Andrew,
I gess this has to do with the way it is constructed, as opposed to the circle.
JJ
User avatar
J-J
Moderator
 
Posts: 173
Joined: Tue Mar 24, 2009 9:48 pm

Postby bigbill55 » Mon Jun 15, 2009 11:23 pm

Thank You for the quick response. I got the area created by multi lines to hatch by doing what you suggested J-J thanks. I still must be doing something wrong because i had no luck with the oval, i will keep trying.
bigbill55
Registered Member
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Jun 01, 2009 9:01 pm

Postby J-J » Tue Jun 16, 2009 6:38 am

[I still must be doing something wrong because i had no luck with the oval]

Do as Andrew said, I tried it.
JJ
User avatar
J-J
Moderator
 
Posts: 173
Joined: Tue Mar 24, 2009 9:48 pm


Return to QCAD 2.1/2.2 'How Do I' Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests