Move the Absolute Zero

Use this forum to ask questions about how to do things in QCAD 2.1/2.2.

Moderator: andrew

Move the Absolute Zero

Postby johnsutton » Tue May 22, 2007 10:00 am

Is it possible to relocate the absolute zero? Perhaps I have misunderstood something but it seems important to be able to do this in certain situations, for example, when creating a library object.
johnsutton
Newbie Member
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon May 21, 2007 4:31 pm

Postby andrew » Thu May 24, 2007 4:56 pm

No, the absolute zero is by definition not movable.

However, you can move the whole drawing which gives you the effect you most likely expect:
- Make sure all layers are visible
- Select > Select All
- Modify > Move / Copy
- Set reference point at new position of absolute zero point
- Click the current absolute zero point as target point or enter "0,0" in the command line and press enter
- In the dialog, choose "Delete Original"

If you find yourself moving the drawing around a lot you might want to consider using relative coordinates instead. The relative zero positions itself automatically by default but can also be locked to a specific location.
User avatar
andrew
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2755
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2007 6:07 am

Postby johnsutton » Thu May 24, 2007 5:12 pm

Of course, silly me, what a klutz!
Thanks for the reply.
johnsutton
Newbie Member
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon May 21, 2007 4:31 pm


Return to QCAD 2.1/2.2 'How Do I' Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yahoo [Bot] and 0 guests