regular backup every N minuttes

Please use this forum to post feedback and suggestions related to QCAD Professional.

Moderator: andrew

regular backup every N minuttes

Postby lorenzen » Wed Apr 02, 2008 11:34 am

Qcad keeps crashing for me, I am loosing quite some time redoing work, because I forget to click save at regular intervals.

I bought the pro version hoping it would crash less frequent than 2.0.5,
the reallity is, that now I don't even have the option to fix the bugs myself.

I am getting close to the point where I am ready to give up using qcad altogther, a pitty since I have grown quite fond of it.

I understand that programs are hardly ever bug-free, and I am ready to help to make this better, if I can.

An auto-save option which makes qcad save a backup copy every N minuttes would indeed help a lot (like recover in vi) That was only N minuttes would be wasted.

/Peter
A Dane in England
lorenzen
Newbie Member
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Mar 26, 2008 12:41 pm

Postby andrew » Wed Apr 02, 2008 4:08 pm

lorenzen: Please use our web site to submit bug reports:
http://www.ribbonsoft.com/rs_contact.html

Please don't forget to let us know what exact version of QCad you are using and what operating system, operating system version, distribution, etc.

Since you have repeated crashes, you probably run into the same problem over and over again, so it would also be helpful if you could provide additional information about what you were doing when the program crashed. You might also want to monitor your system memory usage to make sure you are not running out of memory. Finally, please send us files that cause crashes.

If you are interested to help, you can also start QCad with the --debug switch and send us the last ~50 lines of the output.

Thanks
User avatar
andrew
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2524
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2007 6:07 am

Postby lorenzen » Thu Apr 03, 2008 10:13 am

andrew wrote:If you are interested to help, you can also start QCad with the --debug switch and send us the last ~50 lines of the output.

Thanks


I tried, but it just makes the system too slow, after 19 Gb of logfile, I have
now stopped using --debug
A Dane in England
lorenzen
Newbie Member
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Mar 26, 2008 12:41 pm

Postby Alfdoj » Sun May 04, 2008 11:01 pm

I am having the same problem. 2.2.0.0 is locking up every 10 min. or so... and yes it is the Pro version - paid - and normally happy with it. My 2.1.3.2 did not have the same problem. I am not sure if it is the DK version giving problems as I think Lorenzen is a dane also?

And YES - an auto backup every N minutes is a must with this software.. really sad... I am drawing all of my house in QCAD..

I am running Qcad 2.2.0.0 on a Win XP SP2. This is sitting on an old AMD Athlon XP 1800+ with 768 MB RAM

I will test is the software is creating the same probs on my laptop and add to the string asap.
Alfdoj
Registered Member
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun May 04, 2008 10:50 pm

Postby andrew » Sun May 04, 2008 11:03 pm

Please note that a potential reason for crashes has been fixed in QCad 2.2.1.0. You can download the update from your personal download link.
User avatar
andrew
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2524
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2007 6:07 am

Postby Alfdoj » Sun May 04, 2008 11:31 pm

Perfect... I will try that.. Thank you..

*************************
The new version 2.2.1.0 solved my crashing problems.. Thank you..

*************************

/Alf
Alfdoj
Registered Member
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun May 04, 2008 10:50 pm

Postby juanma » Mon Dec 06, 2010 10:12 pm

I am using version 2.2.2.0 (professional) and autosave is not yet implemented. I have only had one crash so far, but that ruined about one hour of work, so I still miss that auto-save feature anyway.

O.S.: Kubuntu 8.04 (hardy); Linux 2.6.24
juanma
Registered Member
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Dec 05, 2010 5:55 pm


Return to QCAD 2.1/2.2 Suggestions and Feedback

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests