PDF export: bitmap images lost

If you are having problems with QCAD 2.1/2.2, post here. Please report bugs here.

Moderator: andrew

PDF export: bitmap images lost

Postby davidr222 » Wed Jan 05, 2011 8:23 pm

When I export as PDF, all material shows up fine except for a bitmap image that I previous imported into QCAD. When I try to export as a bitmap instead all material, including the imported bitmap show up fine as long as the size of the exported file is small enough. With larger file sizes the imported bitmap once again doesn't show up. I am trying to export the file to a flashdrive for the purpose of printing at large size and so I need a large file so that I don't end up with poor quality when printed. Any help would be much appreciated.
davidr222
Newbie Member
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Nov 10, 2010 1:56 am

Postby andrew » Thu Jan 06, 2011 9:59 am

QCAD estimates that the bitmap would take up a lot of memory and does not export it to avoid crashing due to lack of memory.

This behavior of QCAD can be changed only by editing the configuration file of QCAD directly.

You can edit the QCAD.ini file with a plain text editor of your choice.

After the section [Appearance], please paste the following line:

AutoHideImages = 0

Depending on your operating system, you can find the QCAD.ini file at:

Windows 7:
C:\Users\username\Application Data\RibbonSoft\QCAD.ini

Windows Vista:
C:\Users\username\AppData\Roaming\RibbonSoft\QCAD.ini

Windows XP:
C:\Documents and Settings\username\Application Data\RibbonSoft\QCAD.ini

Linux:
/home/username/.config/RibbonSoft/QCAD.ini

Max OS X:
/Users/username/.config/RibbonSoft/QCAD.ini

(username is your login name)
User avatar
andrew
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2556
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2007 6:07 am

Sounds promising but...

Postby davidr222 » Thu Jan 06, 2011 8:10 pm

I have been unable so far to locate the QCAD.ini file.
I'm running Mac OS 10.5.8.

The only system file I've found that mentions qcad is
com.ribbonsoft.qcad
I tried to open this in a text editor and got a black display.

Any further suggestions would be much appreciated.
davidr222
Newbie Member
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Nov 10, 2010 1:56 am

Postby davidr222 » Thu Jan 06, 2011 9:03 pm

It turns out that that the .config folder containing the QCAD.ini file is invisible. To make it visible I downloaded a program called iShow-Invisible at:
http://mac.downloadatoz.com/ishow-invis ... nload.html
This made the folder appear and I was able to open and edit QCAD.ini
I added the line you suggested and it solved the problem.
Major reduction of frustration! Many thanks!
davidr222
Newbie Member
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Nov 10, 2010 1:56 am

Postby andrew » Tue Apr 12, 2011 2:35 pm

davidr222 wrote:To make it visible I downloaded a program called iShow-Invisible at:
http://mac.downloadatoz.com/ishow-invis ... nload.html
This made the folder appear and I was able to open and edit QCAD.ini


You can also see and access all files through the standard Terminal application if you are familiar with it.
User avatar
andrew
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2556
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2007 6:07 am


Return to QCAD 2.1/2.2 Troubleshooting and Problems

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest