Unicode Character in Dimension

Use this forum to ask questions about how to do things in QCAD 2.1/2.2.

Moderator: andrew

Unicode Character in Dimension

Postby carlhelquist » Fri Feb 04, 2011 9:59 pm

Is there a way to insert a unicode character in a dimension? I would like to insert stacked fractions as font characters.

Carl Helquist
carlhelquist
Junior Member
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Dec 03, 2008 7:12 pm

Postby andrew » Fri Feb 04, 2011 10:50 pm

For Unicode, type the following escape sequence into the label text field while creating the dimension or in the property editor:

Code: Select all
\U+####


Where #### is the hex Unicode of the character to insert.

For example (for an 'A'):

Code: Select all
\U+0041


Note that the QCAD fonts don't contain glyph definitions for all of the Unicode characters.

To learn how to extend fonts, please refer to this thread:
http://www.ribbonsoft.com/rsforum/viewtopic.php?t=9

Since you want to create stacked texts, the escape sequence for stacked text might also be interesting:

Code: Select all
\Stop\bottom;


This produces "top" over "bottom". See also user manual at:
http://www.ribbonsoft.com/qcad/manual_r ... r23.html#1

-> 23.1 Advanced Text Commands
User avatar
andrew
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2544
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2007 6:07 am

Partial Success

Postby carlhelquist » Sun Feb 06, 2011 9:39 pm

Thank you for your quick reply.

I am able to insert unicode into text using your instructions, but I am unable to do so in dimensions.

example file:

http://www.flycarlair.com/pages/qcad/Fraction.dxf

and the standard.cxf that has my glyph for 7/8 in [215e]:

http://www.flycarlair.com/pages/qcad/standard.cxf

and a pdf of what my results look like:

http://www.flycarlair.com/pages/qcad/Fraction.pdf

I am using qcad.2.2.2.0-1-prof.macosx.leopard.universal.
carlhelquist
Junior Member
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Dec 03, 2008 7:12 pm

Postby andrew » Sun Feb 06, 2011 9:52 pm

You're right. It does not work in dimension labels.

However, you might be able to simply copy / paste the actual character into the property editor instead: "⅞".
User avatar
andrew
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2544
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2007 6:07 am

Yes, That Worked

Postby carlhelquist » Sun Feb 06, 2011 10:06 pm

Yes, copying and pasting did the trick.

Thank you for your help.

Carl Helquist
carlhelquist
Junior Member
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Dec 03, 2008 7:12 pm


Return to QCAD 2.1/2.2 'How Do I' Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron