How do I create multiple views or layouts?

Use this forum to ask questions about how to do things in QCAD 2.1/2.2.

Moderator: andrew

How do I create multiple views or layouts?

Postby lathanial » Tue Oct 02, 2007 9:02 pm

I'm coming to QCad from AutoCAD. In AutoCad I work in model space and create layouts from that for printing. When I open a dxf file from AutoCAD, I get items in the blocklist named Paper_Space### that seem to correlate to the layout tabs in AutoCAD but they are empty. My question is: is there a way to create multiple layouts from within a single file or do I have to create different files for each layout?

Any help would be appreciated as I would like to start doing my drawing in linux. Presently I have to reboot to Win to do my drawings and back to linux for everything else.

Thanks,
Lathanial
lathanial
Junior Member
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Fri Sep 28, 2007 2:21 am

Postby michael » Wed Oct 03, 2007 3:07 pm

You can define different layers.

I do not know what exactly how layouts in AutoCAD is defined.


Sure you can define and use different QCad"Layers", also QCad"Blocks".

Maybe, QCad"Blocks" is what you are looking for.

As far as I know, you can use QCad Layers and Blocks are independently.
--
Do you CAD? - I do QCad.
QCad Professional Order Online now:
http://www.ribbonsoft.com/qcad_order.html
michael
Site Admin
 
Posts: 115
Joined: Sun Sep 16, 2007 2:14 pm
Location: Switzerland

Postby lathanial » Wed Oct 03, 2007 10:13 pm

Thanks for the reply Michael. I can do it with blocks as you suggested. It took a little while to learn how to copy layers and blocks into a block to hold the layout but it seems to work fine.
lathanial
Junior Member
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Fri Sep 28, 2007 2:21 am


Return to QCAD 2.1/2.2 'How Do I' Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests