Take updeted library block in to use

Use this forum to ask questions about how to do things in QCAD version 3

Moderator: andrew

Take updeted library block in to use

Postby akisal » Thu Feb 02, 2012 2:36 am

I have been using block from library in my drawings and now updated used library file and would like to update my drawings to use updated library block.

How do I do it?

Is it possible to select all xyz named blocks some how?
akisal
Newbie Member
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Feb 02, 2012 12:47 am

Postby andrew » Thu Feb 02, 2012 9:11 am

I'm afraid that's not easily possible at this point as there is no link between the part library blocks and the inserted blocks after insertion.

There is an alternative called XREF which is not supported by QCAD at this point but planned for a future release.

For now, the easiest way I can think of is:

- Open the block you want to update for editing
- Delete its contents

- Open the part library item with the new block definition as drawing in QCAD
- Copy its contents
- Paste into block of your drawing
User avatar
andrew
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2600
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2007 6:07 am

Postby akisal » Thu Feb 02, 2012 1:18 pm

andrew wrote: - Open the block you want to update for editing
- Delete its contents

- Open the part library item with the new block definition as drawing in QCAD
- Copy its contents
- Paste into block of your drawing


Thanks Andrew.

Actually copy paste solution works quite well. My previous solution was over complicated involving block renaming and reference block change...
akisal
Newbie Member
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Feb 02, 2012 12:47 am


Return to QCAD 3 'How Do I' Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests