RC4 is Unstable [solved]

If you are having problems with QCAD version 3, post here. Please report bugs here.

Moderator: andrew

RC4 is Unstable [solved]

Postby Retiree » Mon Mar 12, 2012 6:52 am

Running RC4 under MAC OS 10.7.3
After adding some text in several locations I got the dreaded beachball for 10 seconds then crash out. Another after big select.
These events can happen but need to be very rare.
Retiree
Newbie Member
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Sep 15, 2011 9:40 am

Postby andrew » Mon Mar 12, 2012 8:38 am

Yes. This is the reason why QCAD 3 is still in RC (release candidate) stadium. Mac OS X handles events differently than other systems which causes 'random' problems. If you experience these problems, please use QCAD 2.2 (current stable release).
User avatar
andrew
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2664
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2007 6:07 am

Postby tukuyomi » Tue Mar 20, 2012 7:36 pm

I experience some instabilities on Windows XP as well.
Crashes happen randomly, so it's not easy to give you details on what was going on just before :/.
But for sure, these did not happen that frequently on RC3, nor on linux RC4.
In any case, is windows crash debug going to be useful for you?
tukuyomi
Junior Member
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Mon Aug 09, 2010 6:15 pm

Postby andrew » Tue Mar 20, 2012 9:19 pm

tukuyomi: thanks for the report. Crash logs are not helpful at the moment. I know what the problem is (scripts being interrupted by system events). It needs some time to fix it, but we're on it.
User avatar
andrew
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2664
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2007 6:07 am

Re: RC4 is Unstable

Postby andrew » Mon Apr 02, 2012 2:37 pm

Please disable the script debugger and restart QCAD:

- 'QCAD Professional' - 'Preferences' - 'Scripting' - untick 'Enable Debugger'

This seems to fix or at the very least improve the situation a lot. I'm still investigating if this is really the cause though..
User avatar
andrew
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2664
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2007 6:07 am

Re: RC4 is Unstable

Postby Husky » Tue Apr 03, 2012 7:47 am

@ Andrew - JFYI

I have the same experience like tukuyomi under XP - from time to time QCad RC4b crashed every couple minutes. I will try your hint with the Debugger. We will see what happens ...
User avatar
Husky
Moderator
 
Posts: 690
Joined: Wed May 11, 2011 9:25 am
Location: USA

Re: RC4 is Unstable

Postby tukuyomi » Wed Apr 04, 2012 11:06 am

andrew wrote:Please disable the script debugger and restart QCAD:

- 'QCAD Professional' - 'Preferences' - 'Scripting' - untick 'Enable Debugger'

This seems to fix or at the very least improve the situation a lot. I'm still investigating if this is really the cause though..

Andrew, thank you for replying.
Definitely, RC4 does not crash on me anymore, for a few days now, thank you for the tip :D
tukuyomi
Junior Member
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Mon Aug 09, 2010 6:15 pm

Re: RC4 is Unstable

Postby andrew » Wed Apr 04, 2012 11:14 am

tukuyomi wrote:Definitely, RC4 does not crash on me anymore, for a few days now, thank you for the tip :D


Excellent! Thanks for the feedback.
User avatar
andrew
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2664
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2007 6:07 am

Re: RC4 is Unstable

Postby Husky » Wed Apr 04, 2012 8:59 pm

tukuyomi wrote:Definitely, RC4 does not crash on me anymore, for a few days now, thank you for the tip :D


Same result with my Qcad :) Thanks Andrew!!!!
User avatar
Husky
Moderator
 
Posts: 690
Joined: Wed May 11, 2011 9:25 am
Location: USA


Return to QCAD 3 Troubleshooting and Problems

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests