How can I move a rectangle by a given amount?

Use this forum to ask questions about how to do things in QCAD 2.1/2.2.

Moderator: andrew

How can I move a rectangle by a given amount?

Postby andrew » Mon Mar 19, 2012 10:43 pm

From a QCAD user:

I want to move a rectangle by a given amount, for example 22.5 units to the right.
Last edited by andrew on Mon Mar 19, 2012 10:44 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
andrew
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2524
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2007 6:07 am

Postby andrew » Mon Mar 19, 2012 10:44 pm

1. Select the rectangle.
2. Modify - Move / Copy
3. Choose reference point
4. Choose target point with the mouse or enter a coordinate in the command line. To move the rectangle 22.5 units to the right, enter the relative coordinate:
@22.5,0
Press the Enter key to confirm.
5. In the Move / Copy dialog, choose "Keep Original"
6. Click "OK"
User avatar
andrew
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2524
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2007 6:07 am

Re:

Postby benp87 » Fri May 04, 2012 1:32 pm

andrew wrote:1. Select the rectangle.
2. Modify - Move / Copy
3. Choose reference point
4. Choose target point with the mouse or enter a coordinate in the command line. To move the rectangle 22.5 units to the right, enter the relative coordinate:
@22.5,0
Press the Enter key to confirm.
5. In the Move / Copy dialog, choose "Keep Original"
6. Click "OK"

Awesome.. Thanks..
benp87
Registered Member
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri May 04, 2012 1:30 pm

Re: How can I move a rectangle by a given amount?

Postby onsitewellness » Thu May 17, 2012 12:45 am

I thought moving a figure like rectangle is simply a cut and paste thing....hehehe...thanks for this anyway.
onsitewellness
Registered Member
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu May 17, 2012 12:26 am

Re: How can I move a rectangle by a given amount?

Postby Clive » Thu May 17, 2012 7:31 am

onsitewellness wrote:I thought moving a figure like rectangle is simply a cut and paste thing....hehehe...thanks for this anyway.


The difference is that with the Move/Copy tool you are presented with the Move/Copy options window!
Attachments
Move,Copy options dialog window.png
Move,Copy options dialog window.png (45.97 KiB) Viewed 3948 times
User avatar
Clive
Moderator
 
Posts: 896
Joined: Thu Aug 25, 2011 9:28 pm
Location: UK

Re:

Postby josephillips » Thu Jun 07, 2012 5:55 pm

andrew wrote:1. Select the rectangle.
2. Modify - Move / Copy
3. Choose reference point
4. Choose target point with the mouse or enter a coordinate in the command line. To move the rectangle 22.5 units to the right, enter the relative coordinate:
@22.5,0
Press the Enter key to confirm.
5. In the Move / Copy dialog, choose "Keep Original"
6. Click "OK"



Wow. Thanks to this. It answered my problem now.
I'm new to forum posting you know. It just feels good that we can easily find solutions to our problems by just surfing the net.. :)
josephillips
Registered Member
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed May 30, 2012 11:48 am


Return to QCAD 2.1/2.2 'How Do I' Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests