thin space

Use this forum to ask questions about how to do things in QCAD version 3

Moderator: andrew

thin space

Postby Surendranath » Mon Jan 07, 2013 11:02 am

How do i type in a thin space between characters? I need this thin space between the value and the unit of a quantity like in "1 mm". The normal space character feels a bit too wide for this purpose.

Thanks,

Surendranath
Surendranath
Junior Member
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon Jan 07, 2013 9:43 am

Re: thin space

Postby Husky » Tue Jan 08, 2013 2:23 am

Hi Surendranath - welcome in the Forum!

Honestly - I don't know how you could do that on a normal way in QCAD but if you have only a couple values to edit then you could work with different sizes of Font Heights.

Husky-2013.01.07-01.png
Husky-2013.01.07-01.png (1.77 KiB) Viewed 2327 times

Screenshot:
What you can see in the first line is a continuous Text Height of 1 (your problem case :wink: ),
The second line is also with a Text Height of 1 - EXCEPT the space between the characters. The empty space has a Text Height of 0.25!

This is not really a nice solution but in a case of need ... :roll:

@Admin, Moderator
1 mm with a "Short space" is the correct spelling! Provides QCAD a "Short space" and I just don't know it? 8)
User avatar
Husky
Moderator
 
Posts: 628
Joined: Wed May 11, 2011 9:25 am
Location: USA

Re: thin space

Postby Clive » Tue Jan 08, 2013 9:50 pm

Husky wrote:1 mm with a "Short space" is the correct spelling! Provides QCAD a "Short space" and I just don't know it? 8)


Not sure I know what you mean Husky - explain some more.

For me I have never used any spaces for these types of measurements! For me it`s always been just 1mm -no spaces used.
User avatar
Clive
Moderator
 
Posts: 899
Joined: Thu Aug 25, 2011 9:28 pm
Location: UK

Re: thin space

Postby Husky » Tue Jan 08, 2013 11:24 pm

clive wrote:
Husky wrote:1 mm with a "Short space" is the correct spelling! Provides QCAD a "Short space" and I just don't know it? 8)


Not sure I know what you mean Husky - explain some more.

SI (International System of Units) says:
The value of a quantity has to be written as a number followed by a space and a unit symbol; e.g. "51.47 kg".
The space is representing a multiplication sign!

A unbreakable or short (unbreakable) space has to be used to keep the number and unit together in Computer programs - e.g. in Word at the end of a line ...
Hihi - that was never a problem with a typewriter ... :lol:
User avatar
Husky
Moderator
 
Posts: 628
Joined: Wed May 11, 2011 9:25 am
Location: USA

Re: thin space

Postby Surendranath » Wed Jan 09, 2013 6:40 am

This is a workaround.
1\S^ ;mm
I have used subscript option to get the result

1mm.png
1mm.png (11.79 KiB) Viewed 2299 times
Surendranath
Junior Member
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon Jan 07, 2013 9:43 am

Re: thin space

Postby Clive » Mon Jan 21, 2013 2:44 pm

Husky wrote:
clive wrote:
Husky wrote:1 mm with a "Short space" is the correct spelling! Provides QCAD a "Short space" and I just don't know it? 8)


Not sure I know what you mean Husky - explain some more.

SI (International System of Units) says:
The value of a quantity has to be written as a number followed by a space and a unit symbol; e.g. "51.47 kg".
The space is representing a multiplication sign!

A unbreakable or short (unbreakable) space has to be used to keep the number and unit together in Computer programs - e.g. in Word at the end of a line ...
Hihi - that was never a problem with a typewriter ... :lol:


Thanks for the explanation Husky, Something else I`ve now learnt :wink:
User avatar
Clive
Moderator
 
Posts: 899
Joined: Thu Aug 25, 2011 9:28 pm
Location: UK


Return to QCAD 3 'How Do I' Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest