Scaling issues

Use this forum to ask questions about how to do things in QCAD version 3

Moderator: andrew

Scaling issues

Postby scruffydog » Sun Jan 27, 2013 4:39 am

(1) How does one get QCad to have a particular scaling each time on start up? For example, a 4"by 4" grid on the screen. Can this be gotten through a template or other mechanism?
(2) How does a person scale an imported bit mapped or svg image to fit in the area defined by (1)? Right now imported images present at a scale of several feet across and are translated several feet away from the center point.

Craig
scruffydog
Newbie Member
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Jan 17, 2013 3:04 am

Re: Scaling issues

Postby andrew » Sun Jan 27, 2013 1:55 pm

(1) Yes, a template seems to be the best way to achieve that.
(2) While inserting an image, you can change the width / height in the options tool bar (values in drawing units as always). After insertion, you can edit the width / height in the property editor or by using the scale tool as with other entities.
User avatar
andrew
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2557
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2007 6:07 am

Re: Scaling issues

Postby scruffydog » Wed Feb 13, 2013 8:07 am

Thank you, Andrew, for your help.
However, I am not getting
"While inserting an image, you can change the width / height in the options tool bar (values in drawing units as always). After insertion, you can edit the width / height in the property editor or by using the scale tool as with other entities."
The above applies only to imported bitmaps, not imported svg data.
The svg data presents itself about twenty to thirty feet from the center point and is scaled that much.
I want to have a WYSIWYG effect, e.g. if the svg is 5" x 7" in Inkscape, I want it to appear 5" x 7" in QCAD.

Craig
scruffydog
Newbie Member
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Jan 17, 2013 3:04 am

Re: Scaling issues

Postby andrew » Wed Feb 13, 2013 10:06 am

Please note that SVG import is very basic at this point. Coordinates are imported 'raw' from the SVG file and any transformations applied to elements or groups in the SVG file are simply ignored.

This might be improved in the future.
User avatar
andrew
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2557
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2007 6:07 am


Return to QCAD 3 'How Do I' Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 1 guest