Printing selection to specific papersize?

Use this forum to ask questions about how to do things in the QCAD Community Edition.

Moderator: andrew

Printing selection to specific papersize?

Postby jsstevenson » Fri Aug 10, 2007 10:25 am

Hello...

I have been using Qcad for about 8 months or so, with great success and efficiency.... the only thing that I find cumbersome is printing a specific selection to a specific paper size (where scale is not important).

For example, let's say I draw 10 panels (within one qcad drawing) for a timber frame house and want to print only one panel to an A3 sheet of paper - obviously, because all ten panels are on the one sheet (separating the panels onto different drawings would be too inefficient) if I go into print preview and then select to reduce to fit and centre drawing then it reduces the whole drawing (all ten panels) down to fit on A3 and then centers everything within the A3 sheet. While these features are great what would be additionally great would be if I could go into print preview, highlight a specific area of the overall drawing (say, one panel) and then reduce that specific selection to my chosen paper size and centre it within that within one or two clicks!!

I assume this feature is not within Qcad 2.0.5.0 [Community Edition], is it?

Otherwise it would make an excellent enhancement to an invaluable tool if it is not already implemented in the latest edition.

Otherwise I might be missing an otherwise method of doing what I am talking about!!!???

Thanks
Jamie.
jsstevenson
Registered Member
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Apr 03, 2007 9:08 pm
Location: Scotland

Postby hpp3 » Tue Jan 08, 2008 6:59 pm

That certainly would be a nice way to do what you need, but there is a way that is not much more difficult...

First, make sure your drawing preferences are set to A3.
In Print Preview, adjust the scale (a box with numbers in it on your toolbar somewhere) until the white box (your paper) is approximately the size of one of the panels on your drawing (you can move the box around also), leaving a little space for margin if you like.

Now, hit the print button and select A3 in the paper size.

Hope this helps...
hpp3
Junior Member
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Jul 17, 2007 4:11 pm

Actual size dimensions

Postby jaime » Fri Feb 22, 2008 10:23 am

Hi. I was wondering if there's a way to print the actual size drawing not the zooming of the drawing. You can just click on the scale number as you mentioned and zoom in and out, this will give you what the first person asked. I would like to print my drawing to scale now. How would I go about doing this. My drawing is a bit smaller than a letter page so I know it fits. I'm just getting this other not to scale printouts though. Can anyone help me with this. I have an engineer scale on hand so I have been checking but no luck yet. Thanks.
jaime
Junior Member
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Feb 20, 2008 10:10 pm

???

Postby jaime » Fri Feb 22, 2008 10:07 pm

Anybody know how? Or does this program not let you?
jaime
Junior Member
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Feb 20, 2008 10:10 pm

Postby andrew » Sat Feb 23, 2008 3:14 pm

jaime: setting the scale factor to "1:1" in the preview will print your drawing 1:1 which means "real size" in CAD lingo.
User avatar
andrew
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2539
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2007 6:07 am

Thanks...

Postby jaime » Wed Feb 27, 2008 11:12 am

Well, somehow I got it going. I decided to start over and set my specs first so I think that helped even though I know it shouldn't matter. It's just taking me longer to get used to how the program is set up. I'm fighting the urge to stop tinkering with it though.

Now I got a question for anyone in the LA area. I got this plate all drawn out. Now does anyone know a place in Los Angeles, that can make this for me for a reasonable price? Maybe even a handful. Anything close to the Hollywood area if possible. I'm not working so that's why I'm asking about the reasonable price. I would like to get a machine to do it so that it's more precise than just hand drilling and cutting stuff my self. Any help is very appreciated. One last thing, I re-drew the whole thing in centimeters if that even matters to them. Thanks.
jaime
Junior Member
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Feb 20, 2008 10:10 pm


Return to QCAD Community 'How Do I' Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests