decimal symbol

Use this forum to ask questions about how to do things in QCAD 2.1/2.2.

Moderator: andrew

decimal symbol

Postby scenodc » Mon Mar 17, 2008 6:40 pm

Hello,

I use the french localized version of QCad on a Mac OSX 10.5.2 system.
My numeric keypad type decimal coma (european decimal symbol), but QCad only recognize the decimal point, even with language preference on french...
Thus typing 54.25 (seeking "." from the num. keypad to the keyboard) is much longer and annoying.
The system preferences don't allow to choose a specific decimal symbol ; Is it possible to change it in QCad ?
scenodc
Registered Member
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Mar 17, 2008 5:40 pm
Location: france

Postby andrew » Mon Mar 17, 2008 6:45 pm

No this is unfortunately not possible at this point. One reason is that coordinate pairs are typed in the command line as x,y. So "5.5,3" for x=5.5 and y=3 would become 5,5,3 when using a comma as separator which is ambiguous.

One possible solution would be to use another unused character to separate x from y, but that possibility is not available yet.
User avatar
andrew
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2557
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2007 6:07 am

Postby scenodc » Tue Mar 18, 2008 8:35 pm

Thanks for your explanations Andrew.
I tried to use Swiss numbers format (international system prefs), which appeared to use decimal point, but nothing good.
And finally the solution was sooooo simple : combination key maj+decimal symbol (numeric keypad) types a "." instead of the ","...
scenodc
Registered Member
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Mar 17, 2008 5:40 pm
Location: france


Return to QCAD 2.1/2.2 'How Do I' Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests