Feedback - Divide tool, hidden capabilities or bug?

Please use this forum to post feedback and suggestions related to QCAD version 3

Moderator: andrew

Feedback - Divide tool, hidden capabilities or bug?

Postby Clive » Mon Dec 09, 2013 12:33 pm

I have just come across something interesting when using the Divide Tool (DI) in QCAD 3.4.4 Pro e_surprised .
When using this tool, once I've selected an entity to divide - lets say a line or an arc, I now find that this tool not only allows me to divide my selection but now allows me to extend a line or an arc to a full circle.. e_confused . Now most of the time I just want to divide my selection and that's it, but now it seems that this tool has a mind of its own and wants to take over my drawing and draw in a full cirle instead of a line or indeed offer me the chance to extend lines.

What's going on? is this intended purpose here or am I missing something, or maybe because it's nearly Christmas the QCAD faries have given my Divide tool hidden powers that I'm not aware of :lol: :lol: :lol:

No seriously, is this normal or a bug that's happening here?

My center line can be extended.
divide tool query 1.png
divide tool query 1.png (3.92 KiB) Viewed 1047 times


My Construction line can be extened if I wish ?
divide tool query 2.png
divide tool query 2.png (3.49 KiB) Viewed 1047 times


My arc can transform into a circle -which I don't want ?
divide tool query 3.png
divide tool query 3.png (5.25 KiB) Viewed 1047 times
Clive
User avatar
Clive
Moderator
 
Posts: 899
Joined: Thu Aug 25, 2011 9:28 pm
Location: UK

Re: Feedback - Divide tool, hidden capabilities or bug?

Postby andrew » Mon Dec 09, 2013 12:50 pm

Thanks for your report.

Could you attache the DXF file to reproduce this? Thanks.
User avatar
andrew
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2529
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2007 6:07 am

Re: Feedback - Divide tool, hidden capabilities or bug?

Postby Clive » Mon Dec 09, 2013 12:55 pm

Sure, here's the file:
Divide tool query.dxf
(78.48 KiB) Downloaded 54 times
Clive
User avatar
Clive
Moderator
 
Posts: 899
Joined: Thu Aug 25, 2011 9:28 pm
Location: UK

Re: Feedback - Divide tool, hidden capabilities or bug?

Postby andrew » Mon Dec 09, 2013 2:00 pm

Thanks. I see what you mean now.

The divide tool has been indeed been modified slightly in one of the past releases. Previously, you had to choose a dividing point that was exactly on the entity which might have been challenging if there was no intersection point or other point to snap to exactly at that position.

To simplify that, you can now specify any point, and the point on the entity that is closest (perpendicular) to that point will be chosen as dividing point.

What you are experiencing is a side effect of that new behavior.

The best solution at this point is probably to not choose a point outside of the entity as dividing point.
User avatar
andrew
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2529
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2007 6:07 am

Re: Feedback - Divide tool, hidden capabilities or bug?

Postby Clive » Mon Dec 09, 2013 2:30 pm

Thank you for the explanation, it certainly explains what has been going on when using this tool lately! The funny thing is though, a seperate tool like this would be useful I think, imagine I want to quickly extend a construction line, not to accurately in the same direction...a tool like this does the job very quickly 8) - maybe the Divide tool has got a voice of its own and wants to develop some offspring tools :lol: .

Seriously the code is already there for a tool like this isn't it? So maybe a 'Quick extension' tool could be added to the Modify toolset -what do you think?
Clive
User avatar
Clive
Moderator
 
Posts: 899
Joined: Thu Aug 25, 2011 9:28 pm
Location: UK

Re: Feedback - Divide tool, hidden capabilities or bug?

Postby J-J » Tue Dec 10, 2013 12:24 pm

clive wrote: imagine I want to quickly extend a construction line, not to accurately in the same direction...


Hey, I think I like those additional features, I use that quite often...
JJ
User avatar
J-J
Moderator
 
Posts: 173
Joined: Tue Mar 24, 2009 9:48 pm

Re: Feedback - Divide tool, hidden capabilities or bug?

Postby Husky » Wed Dec 11, 2013 3:12 am

Yes - that is cool! A new "Trim to point tool" 8)
User avatar
Husky
Moderator
 
Posts: 628
Joined: Wed May 11, 2011 9:25 am
Location: USA


Return to QCAD 3 Suggestions and Feedback

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest