Feedback - Divide tool, hidden capabilities or bug?

Please use this forum to post feedback and suggestions related to QCAD version 3

Moderator: andrew

Re: Feedback - Divide tool, hidden capabilities or bug?

Postby andrew » Mon Dec 09, 2013 12:50 pm

Thanks for your report.

Could you attache the DXF file to reproduce this? Thanks.
User avatar
andrew
Site Admin
 
Posts: 4011
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2007 6:07 am

Re: Feedback - Divide tool, hidden capabilities or bug?

Postby andrew » Mon Dec 09, 2013 2:00 pm

Thanks. I see what you mean now.

The divide tool has been indeed been modified slightly in one of the past releases. Previously, you had to choose a dividing point that was exactly on the entity which might have been challenging if there was no intersection point or other point to snap to exactly at that position.

To simplify that, you can now specify any point, and the point on the entity that is closest (perpendicular) to that point will be chosen as dividing point.

What you are experiencing is a side effect of that new behavior.

The best solution at this point is probably to not choose a point outside of the entity as dividing point.
User avatar
andrew
Site Admin
 
Posts: 4011
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2007 6:07 am

Re: Feedback - Divide tool, hidden capabilities or bug?

Postby J-J » Tue Dec 10, 2013 12:24 pm

clive wrote: imagine I want to quickly extend a construction line, not to accurately in the same direction...


Hey, I think I like those additional features, I use that quite often...
JJ
User avatar
J-J
Moderator
 
Posts: 313
Joined: Tue Mar 24, 2009 9:48 pm

Re: Feedback - Divide tool, hidden capabilities or bug?

Postby Husky » Wed Dec 11, 2013 3:12 am

Yes - that is cool! A new "Trim to point tool" 8)
User avatar
Husky
Moderator/Drawing Help/Testing
 
Posts: 1144
Joined: Wed May 11, 2011 9:25 am
Location: USA


Return to QCAD 3 Suggestions and Feedback

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests