sudden crash

If you are having problems with QCAD version 3, post here. Please report bugs here.

Moderator: andrew

User avatar
J-J
Moderator
Posts: 315
Joined: Tue Mar 24, 2009 9:48 pm

sudden crash

Postby J-J » Wed Feb 19, 2014 10:12 am

I am running the latest version under win7-64, and I have experienced several sudden crashes. If I recall, the last one occurred while inserting a library object. I saved the Windows crash reports, if that can be of any use...
QCAD did not offer a bak file upon restart but I found a "~myfile.dxf" in the working directory. I wonder if anyone has experienced a similar behavior?
JJ

User avatar
Clive
Moderator / Drawing Help
Posts: 1205
Joined: Thu Aug 25, 2011 9:28 pm
Location: UK

Re: sudden crash

Postby Clive » Wed Feb 19, 2014 10:39 am

Not yet J-J, are you able attach the block or similar for testing?
For the best support please state your operating system, QCAD version and add any supporting DXF/DWG files, screenshots etc...

User avatar
J-J
Moderator
Posts: 315
Joined: Tue Mar 24, 2009 9:48 pm

Re: sudden crash

Postby J-J » Wed Feb 19, 2014 1:19 pm

Hi Clive,
I do not believe it is related to the block itself, as upon restarting I inserted it with no problem, it was just a simple hex bolt head top view...I tried to read the crash report generated by Windows, but it does not make much sense to me!
JJ

User avatar
Husky
Moderator/Drawing Help/Testing
Posts: 1200
Joined: Wed May 11, 2011 9:25 am
Location: USA

Re: sudden crash

Postby Husky » Wed Feb 19, 2014 7:32 pm

J-J wrote:QCAD did not offer a bak file upon restart ...

Hi J-J,

it can't help you in this case but you are running an additional Backup Software? I use one for cases like this with a File History. What means I have always a Drawing History of at least 5 preparatory stages - regardless when I did them! Usually I need only the last one - but you never know! :wink:

User avatar
Clive
Moderator / Drawing Help
Posts: 1205
Joined: Thu Aug 25, 2011 9:28 pm
Location: UK

Re: sudden crash

Postby Clive » Wed Feb 19, 2014 10:01 pm

Husky wrote:it can't help you in this case but you are running an additional Backup Software?

Sounds useful, what is the additional back up software?
For the best support please state your operating system, QCAD version and add any supporting DXF/DWG files, screenshots etc...

User avatar
Husky
Moderator/Drawing Help/Testing
Posts: 1200
Joined: Wed May 11, 2011 9:25 am
Location: USA

Re: sudden crash

Postby Husky » Fri Feb 21, 2014 3:12 am

clive wrote:Sounds useful, what is the additional back up software?


You don't have one? At least at work? :shock:
Check this out - it explains why you should use a Backup Software.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Backup_software

User avatar
Clive
Moderator / Drawing Help
Posts: 1205
Joined: Thu Aug 25, 2011 9:28 pm
Location: UK

Re: sudden crash

Postby Clive » Fri Feb 21, 2014 10:09 am

Yes of course, we have back up software at work, our computer officer deals with this, I was only curious if you had a special 'Husky CAD' related back up software :wink:
For the best support please state your operating system, QCAD version and add any supporting DXF/DWG files, screenshots etc...

User avatar
J-J
Moderator
Posts: 315
Joined: Tue Mar 24, 2009 9:48 pm

Re: sudden crash

Postby J-J » Fri Feb 21, 2014 10:22 am

I just downloaded Cobian backup, trying to see how to use it...
JJ

User avatar
Clive
Moderator / Drawing Help
Posts: 1205
Joined: Thu Aug 25, 2011 9:28 pm
Location: UK

Re: sudden crash

Postby Clive » Fri Feb 21, 2014 10:53 am

J-J wrote:I just downloaded Cobian backup, trying to see how to use it...

Hi J-J, yes this looks to be a good program, found this -may help:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=98ISaF6JhHg
For the best support please state your operating system, QCAD version and add any supporting DXF/DWG files, screenshots etc...

User avatar
Husky
Moderator/Drawing Help/Testing
Posts: 1200
Joined: Wed May 11, 2011 9:25 am
Location: USA

Re: sudden crash

Postby Husky » Fri Feb 21, 2014 6:39 pm

J-J wrote:I just downloaded Cobian backup, trying to see how to use it...
I'm in a rush but is that really a good idea? He is trying to sell the source and the forum is dead since a year ... :shock:


Return to “QCAD 3 Troubleshooting and Problems”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Exabot [Bot] and 0 guests