Bitmap lost if I change computers

If you are having problems with QCAD version 3, post here. Please report bugs here.

Moderator: andrew

Bitmap lost if I change computers

Postby bozzle » Wed Mar 26, 2014 2:01 pm

Hi,

I am running 3.4.6 on xp on my desktop and on windows 7 set to xp compatible on my laptop. If I load a bitmap to a qcad file it works fine on 1 computer but that bitmap will not open on the other computer. I now have one file saved on a flash drive which opens one bitmap on one computer and another on the other computer. Am I correct in assuming qcad imports bitmap details from the computer rather than from the flash drive? Is there a way around this so that I can open the same bitmap from a flash drive
bozzle
Junior Member
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Mar 22, 2014 1:58 pm

Re: Bitmap lost if I change computers

Postby andrew » Wed Mar 26, 2014 2:11 pm

The recommended way is to create a folder for your project and put the DXF file as well as all external resources (bitmaps) into that folder. When moving to another computer or otherwise transferring drawings (by e-mail, as ZIP archive, etc) always move or pack the entire project folder.

QCAD searches for bitmaps first at their absolute saved location (path) and secondarily in the same directory as the drawing file. When changing computers, the drive letter of the flash drive might change which means QCAD can no longer find the file if it not in the same folder as the drawing file.
User avatar
andrew
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2522
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2007 6:07 am

Re: Bitmap lost if I change computers

Postby bozzle » Wed Mar 26, 2014 2:15 pm

Many Thanks. Your support is greatly appreciated
bozzle
Junior Member
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Mar 22, 2014 1:58 pm


Return to QCAD 3 Troubleshooting and Problems

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 2 guests