Rulers

If you are having problems with QCAD version 3, post here. Please report bugs here.

Moderator: andrew

Rulers

Postby Frank60 » Mon May 05, 2014 8:09 am

In 3.4.7 the rulers seem to disappear in new files at grids greater than 1 mm.

I have not found a way to get them back again.

In existing files it works OK.

Is there some setting involved?

Thanks,

Frank
Frank60
Active Member
 
Posts: 26
Joined: Thu Apr 25, 2013 1:16 pm

Re: Rulers

Postby Husky » Mon May 05, 2014 5:42 pm

Hi Frank - thanks for mention this.

I assume that is a Bug and not a setting question - but honestly I don't know it exactly. :oops:

This behavior isn't new - it occurs since a couple past updates and it's displayed in my application as a ruler bar without units. I'm not able to find a setting which works ...

Husky-2014.05.05-01.png
Husky-2014.05.05-01.png (6.92 KiB) Viewed 877 times


@Andrew
Any ideas on this?
Last edited by Husky on Mon May 05, 2014 7:17 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Work smart, not hard: QCad Pro
User avatar
Husky
Moderator
 
Posts: 668
Joined: Wed May 11, 2011 9:25 am
Location: USA

Re: Rulers

Postby Frank60 » Mon May 05, 2014 6:20 pm

Exactly the same symptoms here.

I deleted qcad3.ini (after backup) and then it was all back to normal. Then I compared the files with Winmerge and copied the most important settings over.
It looks to me that there are some incompatible settings in the INI file between recent versions.

Thanks,

Frank
Frank60
Active Member
 
Posts: 26
Joined: Thu Apr 25, 2013 1:16 pm

Re: Rulers

Postby Clive » Tue May 06, 2014 8:01 pm

Frank

I presume you mean when you zoom out to extents and beyond when the grid spacing is set to something over 1mm instead of the 'auto' setting?

If you draw a point or some other entity (you may not see it once drawn!) and select the Auto-zoom tool - does this bring back the rulers?
Clive
User avatar
Clive
Moderator
 
Posts: 921
Joined: Thu Aug 25, 2011 9:28 pm
Location: UK

Re: Rulers

Postby Husky » Tue May 06, 2014 8:58 pm

Hi clive - check this out: :wink:

Old qcad3.ini - growing since many releases ...

Husky-2014.05.06-01.png
Husky-2014.05.06-01.png (3.87 KiB) Viewed 847 times


Same Drawing - same zoom but now with a fresh qcad3.ini

Husky-2014.05.06-02.png
Husky-2014.05.06-02.png (3.92 KiB) Viewed 847 times


Or ...
Old qcad3.ini - new drawing - no zoom:

Husky-2014.05.06-04.png
Husky-2014.05.06-04.png (3.88 KiB) Viewed 847 times


Fresh qcad3.ini - new drawing - no zoom:

Husky-2014.05.06-03.png
Husky-2014.05.06-03.png (5.71 KiB) Viewed 847 times


My best guess .... the problem is not located between chair and monitor. :lol: :lol: :lol:
Work smart, not hard: QCad Pro
User avatar
Husky
Moderator
 
Posts: 668
Joined: Wed May 11, 2011 9:25 am
Location: USA

Re: Rulers

Postby andrew » Wed May 07, 2014 8:04 am

Husky: please attach your old QCAD3.ini file, so I can have a look at what is happening. Thanks.
User avatar
andrew
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2600
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2007 6:07 am

Re: Rulers

Postby Husky » Wed May 07, 2014 8:39 am

andrew wrote:Husky: please attach your old QCAD3.ini file, so I can have a look at what is happening. Thanks.


Sure .... here we are. Thanks!

QCAD3.ini
(57.5 KiB) Downloaded 22 times
Work smart, not hard: QCad Pro
User avatar
Husky
Moderator
 
Posts: 668
Joined: Wed May 11, 2011 9:25 am
Location: USA

QCAD.INI

Postby Frank60 » Sat May 10, 2014 8:54 am

There's a new release 3.5.0: can I safely use the current 3.4.7 Qcad.ini file without having to generate a new ini file? (and manually make all personal settings to the ini file :( )


Thanks,

Frank
Frank60
Active Member
 
Posts: 26
Joined: Thu Apr 25, 2013 1:16 pm

Re: Rulers

Postby Frank60 » Wed Jun 18, 2014 9:31 am

I finally managed to put the finger on a possible cause of this behavior.

If I disable 'Automatically scale meta grid' under App Prefs\Graph View\Grid, the rulers disappear at zooms larger than 100<0 and the have gone in all zooms.

If I then enable 'Automatically scale meta grid', things are back to normal.

Frank
Frank60
Active Member
 
Posts: 26
Joined: Thu Apr 25, 2013 1:16 pm

Re: Rulers

Postby Clive » Fri Jun 20, 2014 9:29 am

Hi Frank

Thanks for the update, glad to hear things are working well for you now with QCAD :D .
Clive
User avatar
Clive
Moderator
 
Posts: 921
Joined: Thu Aug 25, 2011 9:28 pm
Location: UK


Return to QCAD 3 Troubleshooting and Problems

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest