Drawings for planning applications

Do you have a question you want to ask an existing QCAD user about QCAD and what you can do with it? Do you want to know if a particular feature exists? This is the place to ask.

Moderator: andrew

Post Reply
RichardK
Registered Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Dec 11, 2016 2:09 pm

Drawings for planning applications

Post by RichardK » Sun Dec 11, 2016 3:12 pm

Hi,
Is it possible to make drawings for a planning applications in different scales, example 1:100, 1:250 and 1:500 and save them to a pdf file?
The pdf file when opened by the local planning department would require these to be in the correct scale.


RichardK

User avatar
Husky
Moderator/Drawing Help/Testing
Posts: 2098
Joined: Wed May 11, 2011 9:25 am
Location: USA

Re: Drawings for planning applications

Post by Husky » Sun Dec 11, 2016 4:24 pm

Hi RichardK - welcome to the forum.

Common practice is to draw everything 1:1 - the up or down scaling will be done in the printing process.

Question: We are talking about to use different scales in one and the same drawing or we are talking about to print one drawing in different scales?
Do you have an example drawing to show us for a better understanding?
Work smart, not hard: QCad Pro

RichardK
Registered Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Dec 11, 2016 2:09 pm

Re: Drawings for planning applications

Post by RichardK » Mon Dec 12, 2016 7:07 pm

Hi,
Thanks for your quick reply.

Everything in a single drawing would be to the same scale.
Different drawings would be in different scales.
For example the site plan drawing would be required in 1:200 or 1:250
The proposed building drawings would be in 1:100

From your reply I guess this is all done at the print/ pdf file stage. Are there preset scales for this?

RichardK

User avatar
Husky
Moderator/Drawing Help/Testing
Posts: 2098
Joined: Wed May 11, 2011 9:25 am
Location: USA

Re: Drawings for planning applications

Post by Husky » Mon Dec 12, 2016 8:06 pm

Hi,
RichardK wrote:From your reply I guess this is all done at the print/ pdf file stage. Are there preset scales for this?
Correct. Drawing 1:1 and then print to scale. There are already predefined scales in the option bar but you are also able to type in your own (metric/imperial) scale.
Husky-2016.12.12-01.png
Husky-2016.12.12-01.png (83.99 KiB) Viewed 3440 times
Work smart, not hard: QCad Pro

Post Reply

Return to “Pre-sales Questions”