Property Editor dialog

Please use this forum to post feedback and suggestions related to QCAD.

Moderator: andrew

Post Reply
cqman
Newbie Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Dec 03, 2017 4:19 pm

Property Editor dialog

Post by cqman » Sun Dec 03, 2017 5:02 pm

The line for "General properties", "Layer" the line is too narrow, so you do not see the layer name when the Property Editor is pinned to the side.
(see attachments below):
Can the line be extended (for example, align left)?
PropEditor-1.png
PropEditor-1.png (22.4 KiB) Viewed 1783 times
PropEditor-2.png
PropEditor-2.png (20.33 KiB) Viewed 1783 times

User avatar
Husky
Moderator/Drawing Help/Testing
Posts: 2129
Joined: Wed May 11, 2011 9:25 am
Location: USA

Re: Property Editor dialog

Post by Husky » Sun Dec 03, 2017 7:10 pm

Hi cqman - welcome to the QCAD forum,
cqman wrote:The line for "General properties", "Layer" the line is too narrow,
use a "left click and hold" action on the left border on your Widget (Property Editor) and pull the width to what ever fits your needs.
Husky-2017.12.03-02.png
Husky-2017.12.03-02.png (21.78 KiB) Viewed 1780 times
Work smart, not hard: QCad Pro

cqman
Newbie Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Dec 03, 2017 4:19 pm

Re: Property Editor dialog

Post by cqman » Sun Dec 03, 2017 10:06 pm

cqman wrote: use a "left click and hold" action on the left border on your Widget (Property Editor) and pull the width to what ever fits your needs.
Husky-2017.12.03-02.png
---
Yes, it is possible. But opening a new drawing = the same procedure.
The width of the side panel can not be locked.

User avatar
Husky
Moderator/Drawing Help/Testing
Posts: 2129
Joined: Wed May 11, 2011 9:25 am
Location: USA

Re: Property Editor dialog

Post by Husky » Sun Dec 03, 2017 10:30 pm

cqman wrote:Yes, it is possible. But opening a new drawing = the same procedure.
The width of the side panel can not be locked.
QCAD should save the position. On which OS you are? Has the folder which contains the qcad3.ini write permission?
Work smart, not hard: QCad Pro

cqman
Newbie Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Dec 03, 2017 4:19 pm

Re: Property Editor dialog

Post by cqman » Mon Dec 04, 2017 6:50 pm

Husky wrote:QCAD should save the position.
That would be great.
Husky wrote:On which OS you are?
OS is Windows10 (32 bit)
Husky wrote:Has the folder which contains the qcad3.ini write permission?
The file is placed in standard user folder C:\Users\...\AppData\Roaming\QCAD
User "..." has admin privileges and full access to file and folder.
Term "Width" occurs in [PageSettings] - PaperWidth, [ShapeRectangleSize] - Width, [Appearance] - Width.
Which line to look for?

User avatar
Husky
Moderator/Drawing Help/Testing
Posts: 2129
Joined: Wed May 11, 2011 9:25 am
Location: USA

Re: Property Editor dialog

Post by Husky » Mon Dec 04, 2017 8:38 pm

cqman wrote:OS is Windows10 (32 bit)
You are sure you installed the 32 bit and not the 64 bit system?
You haven't mixed QCAD installations in the same Folder. Note, a QCAD installation or update belongs always in an empty folder!

Last idea - run QCAD in Administrator Mode / make your changes and close QCAD. Start it again and see what happens to your changes.
To run QCAD in Win 10 directly in administrator Mode click with the right mouse button on the QCAD shortcut and chose "Run as Administrator".
Work smart, not hard: QCad Pro

cqman
Newbie Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Dec 03, 2017 4:19 pm

Re: Property Editor dialog

Post by cqman » Tue Dec 05, 2017 6:32 pm

Yes, the system is 32 bit due to compatibility with other programs.

I'm afraid, the suggested way is not the best solution if we want to keep the small side panel width.
More efficient would be to edit script files:
---
...\scripts\Widgets\PropertyEditor\PropertyEditor.js
...\scripts\Widgets\PropertyEditor\PropertyEditor.ui
and parameters
<property name="alignment">
<set>Qt::AlignRight|Qt::AlignTrailing|Qt::AlignVCenter</set>

Note "AlingLeft" is missing?

<property name="minimumSize">
<size> <width>50</width>

---
But I do not have enough experience to interfere with the script
so as not to completely change the appearance of the dialogue.

cqman
Newbie Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Dec 03, 2017 4:19 pm

Re: Property Editor dialog

Post by cqman » Thu Dec 07, 2017 6:45 pm

Property Panel is one of the most used dialogues in CAD programs.

It is possible to organize the Property Panel so that it is more user-friendly
and mainly occupy a small width (if it is pinned to the left or right side).

For example, I'm attaching the Autocad Property Panel below.
Two major differences:
The "Layer" entry contains only the layer name
The "Color" entry contains only sample 10x10 px (QCad 30x10 px)
Note Line item names are aligned to the left (Qcad to the right)
Attachments
AC-PropEdit.png
AC-PropEdit.png (19.81 KiB) Viewed 1717 times

User avatar
andrew
Site Admin
Posts: 5603
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2007 6:07 am

Re: Property Editor dialog

Post by andrew » Thu Dec 07, 2017 7:16 pm

cqman: you may want to add a feature request at:
http://www.qcad.org/bugtracker

Post Reply

Return to “QCAD Suggestions and Feedback”