Suggestion: Make command prompts visible for all items

Please use this forum to post feedback and suggestions related to QCAD.

Moderator: andrew

Post Reply
User avatar
lphilpot
Full Member
Posts: 73
Joined: Mon Oct 30, 2017 4:03 am
Location: Deep South USA

Suggestion: Make command prompts visible for all items

Post by lphilpot » Sat Dec 30, 2017 4:37 pm

When moving the mouse over a menu or toolbar button (without choosing anything), a brief description of each item is shown in place of the status bar at the bottom left of the screen.

Well, almost... :wink: Only enabled options are shown - Those that are greyed-out don't have any description.

It's not that a reminder is needed for each and every option, but there's been more than once I've looked for a reminder only to discover the item wasn't active and therefore had no help prompt. Not a huge deal, but it would be nice.

Also, this is probably specific to the dark theme, but the prompt text is black on a dark grey background and difficult to read (on both Windows and Linux). I've not looked into the CSS to see exactly what it is, though.

Image

Thanks for a superb product, at any rate.
Len
----------------------------------------
QCAD Pro on Xubuntu Linux (usually)

User avatar
Husky
Moderator/Drawing Help/Testing
Posts: 2188
Joined: Wed May 11, 2011 9:25 am
Location: USA

Re: Suggestion: Make command prompts visible for all items

Post by Husky » Sun Dec 31, 2017 1:22 am

Hi Len,
lphilpot wrote: Well, almost... :wink: Only enabled options are shown - Those that are greyed-out don't have any description.
Hmmmm, can't confirm that here with Win10. Available / not available shows me always the Info Label. BUT QCAD has to be the active window on your system. If not - you'll not see it. Just click the QCAD Title Bar (or what ever) to tell your OS that this application is now the active one and ....
Husky-2017.12.30-02.png
Husky-2017.12.30-02.png (36.88 KiB) Viewed 1515 times
lphilpot wrote:Also, this is probably specific to the dark theme, but the prompt text is black on a dark grey background and difficult to read (on both Windows and Linux). I've not looked into the CSS to see exactly what it is, though.
My Text is grey and white on a darker (I don't believe that this color has a real name :shock: ) background. That isn't the same on your Win OS?

But I agree - the default theme is much more readable!
Husky-2017.12.30-03.png
Husky-2017.12.30-03.png (24.39 KiB) Viewed 1515 times
Work smart, not hard: QCad Pro

User avatar
lphilpot
Full Member
Posts: 73
Joined: Mon Oct 30, 2017 4:03 am
Location: Deep South USA

Re: Suggestion: Make command prompts visible for all items

Post by lphilpot » Sun Dec 31, 2017 3:01 am

Yes, the tool tip pops up for me, too, and they look like your examples. I was referring to the (sometimes a little more verbose) description that shows up in place of the status bar at the bottom left when some of the buttons or menu items are hovered over.
Len
----------------------------------------
QCAD Pro on Xubuntu Linux (usually)

User avatar
Husky
Moderator/Drawing Help/Testing
Posts: 2188
Joined: Wed May 11, 2011 9:25 am
Location: USA

Re: Suggestion: Make command prompts visible for all items

Post by Husky » Sun Dec 31, 2017 5:56 am

Oups - yep ... Status Bar. Sorry, my bad!

You are right. It looks like not all tools represented and the color contrast could be better ....
Work smart, not hard: QCad Pro

User avatar
Husky
Moderator/Drawing Help/Testing
Posts: 2188
Joined: Wed May 11, 2011 9:25 am
Location: USA

Re: Suggestion: Make command prompts visible for all items

Post by Husky » Sun Dec 31, 2017 9:53 am

I checked 110 HEX Color codes in the css but nothing changed that particular text .... :cry:
Work smart, not hard: QCad Pro

User avatar
lphilpot
Full Member
Posts: 73
Joined: Mon Oct 30, 2017 4:03 am
Location: Deep South USA

Re: Suggestion: Make command prompts visible for all items

Post by lphilpot » Sun Dec 31, 2017 2:11 pm

Maybe it's a default color instead... If so I guess (?) we would need to know the proper selector name to specifically assign a color. But I'm no CSS expert.
Len
----------------------------------------
QCAD Pro on Xubuntu Linux (usually)

User avatar
Husky
Moderator/Drawing Help/Testing
Posts: 2188
Joined: Wed May 11, 2011 9:25 am
Location: USA

Re: Suggestion: Make command prompts visible for all items

Post by Husky » Sun Dec 31, 2017 5:56 pm

Yes that was my thought too. Unfortunately I'm in the same boot like you with css - maybe Andrew can give us a hint ... ?
Work smart, not hard: QCad Pro

Post Reply

Return to “QCAD Suggestions and Feedback”